Xlight FTP Server

Submit portable freeware that you find here. It helps if you include information like description, extraction instruction, Unicode support, whether it writes to the registry, and so on.
Ogglord

Xlight FTP Server

#1 Post by Ogglord »

This is a great ftp server which I have been using for several months. I would consider it portable, tho I have not done any monitoring of the registry etc.
It is downloadable as a single exe and will create settings files in its directory.

I think it will make a great contribution to the site.
Xlight FTP Server has three editions: personal, standard, professional. Personal edition is free for personal use.
After 30 days- it will become stripped of some extra features but still very competetive.

Screenshot
Screenshot
Website

webfork

Re: Xlight FTP Server

#2 Post by webfork »

I really, really want to get a simple SFTP server here on the site so I took a look at this program. The irony is that the program is (so far) portable until you generate a cert. I say "so far" because I haven't tested it past the 30 day point, whereupon its behavior may change.

Otherwise, it writes one entry to "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID" which is no biggie.

Tested: Portable (tentatively and if you don't generate an SFTP cert)

Edit:

Additional notes:

1. Saves passwords securely (good)
2. Program updated very recently (very good, compared to many other FTP server tools available on the site)
3. Test system was a stripped-down WinXP SP2

Update:

The developers replied:
  • "We use the Windows’s native CryptoAPI for SSL. If certificate is stored in the disk, it can be easily copied and less secure. For security reason, Microsoft chooses to store SSL certificate in the registry, which seems not possible to change."
Two points here:
  • 1. The program does NOT use SSH and instead is another FTP over SSL tool, which strictly speaking is FTPS, not SFTP.