Using TABs in the full editor ?

All suggestions about TPFC should be posted here. Discussions about changes to TPFC will also be carried out here.
Message
Author
User avatar
__philippe
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:09 am

Using TABs in the full editor ?

#1 Post by __philippe » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:14 am

There are special tags (table|td|th|tr) available in the phpBB full post editor for building elaborate tables.

However, for quickly creating short lists of vertically aligned elements, it would be much convenient to use a simple TAB tag.
(or some Hard Space tag - multiple contiguous space characters are currently always conflated into a single one).

Would it be possible to define a new [Tab] function for this purpose ?

(Perhaps such a hidden code does already exist, but for the life of me I can't unearth it... :? )

User avatar
__philippe
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:09 am

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#2 Post by __philippe » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:30 am

Cobbled together a temporary workaround (sidesteps calling for any new tag definition):

From the numeric keypad, enter the "ALT 255" keystroke sequence, once for every blank space needed to achieve the desired indentations.

This will generate "invisible" non-printing space characters (hex FF) which phpBB will interpret as actual discrete hard spaces, not to be conflated like regular spaces (hex 20).

Applied together with a fixed-pitch font (supplied, for instance, by the built-in "Code" tag), this trick will coax phpBB into producing the expected indentations.

Rather clumsy* but effective interim fudge... :wink:

*4 keystrokes per blank space... :roll:

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2233
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#3 Post by Andrew Lee » Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:31 am

I have added the "indent" tag.

Test indent line 1

Test indent line 2


Works?

User avatar
__philippe
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:09 am

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#4 Post by __philippe » Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:56 am

@Andrew

Thanks!

"Indent" works fine when used by itself.

line1
123
456

line2
123
456


However, it does not appear to be interpreted when used inside the "Code" tag ?
(which would be nice since "Code" uses a fixed-pitch font, useful to preserve indentations)

Code: Select all

[indent][/indent]line1 [indent]123[/indent][indent]456[/indent]
[indent][/indent]line2 [indent]123[/indent][indent]456[/indent]

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 4514
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#5 Post by Midas » Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:31 am

Andrew Lee wrote:I have added the "indent" tag.
  • Nice. Thank you. 8)
__philippe wrote:Cobbled together a temporary workaround (sidesteps calling for any new tag definition):
  • This is what I call deep research. Many thanks to you, __philippe, for sharing the sweat of your brow with us... :mrgreen:
__philippe wrote:However, it does not appear to be interpreted when used inside the "Code" tag?
  • Might be easier implementing a tag for monospaced text?

User avatar
__philippe
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:09 am

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#6 Post by __philippe » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:35 am

Midas wrote:
  • This is what I call deep research. Many thanks to you, __philippe, for sharing the sweat of your brow with us... :mrgreen:
No Sweat, cheeky you Image little brat... ;-) (and Ta! all the same... 8))
Midas wrote:
  • Might be easier implementing a tag for monospaced text?

Didn't know about the preformatted text tag, so your post prodded me to look it up, and while researching,
came across this nifty hands-on HTML demo site, complete with "Try-it-Yourself" whiteboard:

Might be worth a gander ?

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 4514
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#7 Post by Midas » Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:11 pm

:lol:

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2233
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#8 Post by Andrew Lee » Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:16 pm

"pre" tag implemented:

Monospace text line 1

Bold monospace text line 2 in a different color

User avatar
__philippe
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:09 am

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#9 Post by __philippe » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:38 am

Sweet indents!
Thanks ! 8)
Last edited by __philippe on Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 4514
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#10 Post by Midas » Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:15 am

Wow! Now that's what I call customer service... :twisted:

Thank you.

User avatar
__philippe
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:09 am

Editor Font: Medium size Tag request

#11 Post by __philippe » Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:41 pm

@Andrew

Would you please consider defining an additional Editor Font size tag : Medium, size=120 ?

This new Medium (*) font size would fit "to the letter" right between the existing Normal (too small) and Large (a smidgen too big) fonts,
particularly when used for monospaced fonts within Code boxes

Of course, one can already sneak in an alternate font size by editing on the fly over an existing font number,
but this takes superfluous keystrokes, decidedly less handy than a built-in, dedicated Medium font tag would ever be.

Current Font sizes samples (within code box)

Code: Select all

Tiny(50) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
[/size]

Code: Select all

Small (85) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
[/size]

Code: Select all

Normal (100) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
[/size]
 (*) Medium font size suggestion

Code: Select all

Medium (120) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog 
[/size]

Code: Select all

Large (150) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
[/size]

Code: Select all

Huge (200) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
[/size]

Pretty please ?

Thanks

__philippe

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2233
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#12 Post by Andrew Lee » Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:47 pm

AFAIK, there's no easy way to add a new entry to the "Font size" list.

But I have added a new "medium" bbcode. Not perfect, I know.

[Test]

Tiny(50) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
Small (85) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
Normal (100) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
Medium (120) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
Large (150) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog
Huge (200) The Quick Brown Fox Jumps over the Lazy dog

User avatar
__philippe
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:09 am

Editor Font: Medium size Tag request

#13 Post by __philippe » Mon Mar 06, 2017 2:01 am

Andrew Lee wrote:AFAIK, there's no easy way to add a new entry to the "Font size" list.
But I have added a new "medium" bbcode. Not perfect, I know.
Thanks Andrew for swiftly implementing the new Medium (120) bbcode tag ! 8)

BTW, instead of adding a new entry in the "Font Size" list, perhaps would it be feasible to re-task the existing little-used "Tiny" entry under a newfound "Medium" identity ? :wink:

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2233
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#14 Post by Andrew Lee » Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:16 pm

BTW, instead of adding a new entry in the "Font Size" list, perhaps would it be feasible to re-task the existing little-used "Tiny" entry under a newfound "Medium" identity ?
Not sure how that can be done. phpBB lets you define new BBCodes, but it doesn't let you change existing ones, nor does it let you change existing font size definitions.

User avatar
__philippe
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:09 am

Re: Using TABs in the full editor ?

#15 Post by __philippe » Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:27 am

No worries, mate ;-)... the new Medium BBcode tag is just fine as it stands, Ta! :D

Post Reply