InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

Submit portable freeware that you find here. It helps if you include information like description, extraction instruction, Unicode support, whether it writes to the registry, and so on.
Message
Author
agam
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:12 am

InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#1 Post by agam »

I was going to suggest the following program: "InfoBase" - It is a clone of the very old (Win 3.1) Info-Select Version 1.0 that i was using until today - now i wrote it new.

http://freeware.persoft.ch/ under "programs".

It is absolutely stealth and portable, supports (partiell) Unicode and is very fast (to load a stack with 100'000 note takes abt. 1 second). The only "problem" is, that the short help is in German (i add a "Google translation", i have not time to translate ...), but usually you does not need help - the program is mostly self-explanatory ...

J. Agam

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6695
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#2 Post by Midas »

Dear agam: welcome to TPFC's forums.

Be advised that software submissions should be posted to the Portable Freeware Submission forum, this Suggestions/Discussions forum is reserved for postings related to TPFC site/database/forums.

Concerning program translation, may I point you towards Transifex.com? Although there may be other/better options, it was the that one sprung immediately to my mind. An alternative resource, if program language files follow something like the widespread INI format, would be Pastebin.com plain text file hosting.

Thanks for sharing your work. 8)

@Mod: please move to appropriate location.

agam
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:12 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#3 Post by agam »

thanks for info ... it is moved ... but, how to delete here ???

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6695
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#4 Post by Midas »

agam wrote:how to delete here ???
After my reply, only the forum moderator. We'll have to await his review.

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#5 Post by I am Baas »

@agam

I updated the entry at http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?id=2521 + voted

Btw, I find the auto-created "Custom Dictionary" feature annoying.

Also, you may want to create a better screenshot than the one I did :|

agam
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:12 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#6 Post by agam »

@i am bass
thanks for updating and voting.

> Btw, I find the auto-created "Custom Dictionary" feature annoying.

Yes, I usually agree with - but here i need for the first start a directory to create the sample-database, templates, ini-files etc. .. Info-Base cannot work without databases ! It is easy to delete this directory after changing the path (with me it is inside a tryCrypt container).

thanks also for making a screenshot, later (if i am able to edit entries) will make another with more data, but there are mostly private data ... :-(

J.Agam

agam
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:12 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#7 Post by agam »

@i am Baas

Hello again,
I dont know how to update or edit a "private" entry ?? maybe you can please change it to InfoBase Version 1.8 ?
Thanks a lot !
J. Agam

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#8 Post by I am Baas »

@agam

InfoBase made it to the db. Please provide a changelog if possible. Thanks.

agam
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:12 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#9 Post by agam »

@i am Baas

thanks for help - i hope i made is correct ?? :-)

agam
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:12 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#10 Post by agam »

@I am Baas

sorry again, but i am not able to change/edit my entry of Info-Base. Therefore:
Can you please change the "download"-link from "http://freeware.persoft.ch/infobase.zip" to "http://freeware.persoft.ch/program_en.htm" ? This is more flexible for me (without edit-rights) if i change the location of the file or filename on my homepage ...

thanks and regards
j.a.

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6695
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#11 Post by Midas »

@agam: done.

agam
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:12 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#12 Post by agam »

@I am Baas: thanks !

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#13 Post by I am Baas »

agam wrote:@I am Baas: thanks !
You should thank Midas.

agam
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:12 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#14 Post by agam »

Oh, now i see it ... @I am Baas: sorry ... @Midas: thanks ! :-)

agam
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:12 am

Re: InfoBase, a new PIM / freeform database

#15 Post by agam »

@webfork

Hello, i see you changed (Why ?) my text (i am as a R0 not able to edit ...) abt. Info-Base and now it is wrong: i mean the old and good "Info-Select" _Version 1.0_ for Windows (3.x) - by Micro Logic and not all the other versions (from 3 up to 10 just now) of that PIM ... (see also on my site: http://freeware.persoft.ch/program_en.htm under "ISWrun" for the relevant history of Info-Select)

please restore my version of the description. thanks !

J. Agam

Post Reply