Opera [Chrome based browser]

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
Message
Author
User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Opera [Chrome based browser]

#1 Post by guinness » Tue May 28, 2013 1:51 am

[Moderator note: this is the primary Opera (Chrome based browser) forum topic; http://www.portablefreeware.com/?id=2675; OP subject edited for clarity, original was "Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ? (4)"]

----

I don't think an explanation is really required this time around after the last topic racked up an impressive 196 posts.

Source: http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/op ... 0-released
Source: http://www.ghacks.net/2013/05/28/opera- ... e-product/

v12 User Agent:

Code: Select all

Opera/9.80 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64) Presto/2.12.388 Version/12.15
v15 User Agent:

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/28.0.1500.20 Safari/537.36 OPR/15.0.1147.18 (Edition Next)
Last edited by guinness on Tue May 28, 2013 2:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#2 Post by guinness » Tue May 28, 2013 2:00 am

I also downloaded and extracted the separate download of Opera Mail and it would appear to be Portable. Though I didn't check for registry changes, just files and folders in Sandboxie.

Emka
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:31 pm

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#3 Post by Emka » Tue May 28, 2013 4:25 am

So, is Opera 15 portable or not?

(BTW, I am hugely disappointed that they removed the mail client. It was the main reason why I chose Opera a thousand years ago in the first place.)

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#4 Post by guinness » Tue May 28, 2013 5:13 am

Well I would presume so, but it's an Opera Next version so it's not worth testing just yet.

Reading the comments in the Desktop Blog got me thinking that don't people understand this isn't a stable version. OK, features are missing from this build, but it doesn't mean Opera are doing away with them in the 'final' product. Take for example 'Private Tabs', looking at the help section of Opera is documented about the usage of 'Private Tabs', so I therefore believe this to be a 'see what new features' are coming and will integrate the old ones at a later stage in the development process.

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 2021
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#5 Post by SYSTEM » Tue May 28, 2013 6:58 am

Most likely Opera Software hasn't yet even fully decided which features will be included in Opera 15.
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#6 Post by joby_toss » Tue May 28, 2013 9:56 am

So disappointed... Just another chrome browser...

Do I have to curse every time I accidentally close a tab because I can't remove the close tab button, like when using Chrome? And their official position is one that really made me HATE GOOGLE: http://code.google.com/p/chromium/issue ... l?id=50913 And I'm not alone: http://productforums.google.com/forum/# ... ke8SOdV5y0
I don't think I'll ever use Opera (15 and up) again until I can deal with this issue.

freakazoid
Posts: 1138
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#7 Post by freakazoid » Tue May 28, 2013 10:17 am

So since Opera is switching to Blink / Webkit, are they still maintaining portable installs? Any word on stealthiness?

I had a feeling that Opera could not bring across many of its features; might as well use Maxthon if you want a better Webkit alternative that builds upon Chromium's interface.

I do kind of love the "Stash" feature. I'm one of those people that have way too many tabs open and this may be a nifty way to solve that problem.

Great to hear that Opera is spinning off M2 though. Have been using Thunderbird and looking for a change.
Last edited by freakazoid on Tue May 28, 2013 10:25 am, edited 2 times in total.
is it stealth? ;)

the_watcher
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:30 am

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#8 Post by the_watcher » Tue May 28, 2013 10:20 am

Pretty basic so far. I REALLY hope they'll restore most -if not all of- v.12's functionality.
SYSTEM wrote:Most likely Opera Software hasn't yet even fully decided which features will be included in Opera 15.
Seems like that. From their dev blog (http://my.opera.com/ODIN/blog/2013/05/2 ... -computers)
Other features missing from the first release of Opera based on Chromium will be evaluated and potentially re-instated in future releases.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#9 Post by joby_toss » Tue May 28, 2013 11:29 pm

Portable, not stealth.

Still hate it! Freaking close tab button made me cry a little!

Edit: what a depressing 2000 post... :cry:

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#10 Post by tproli » Tue May 28, 2013 11:36 pm

what a depressing 2000
Come on, real anniversary will be post No 2048 :)

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#11 Post by joby_toss » Tue May 28, 2013 11:51 pm

In a bit ... ;)
Last edited by joby_toss on Tue May 28, 2013 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#12 Post by tproli » Tue May 28, 2013 11:52 pm

Haven't tried this snapshot and probably saved myself a slap :)

opera_batman_slap.jpg
opera_batman_slap.jpg (44.85 KiB) Viewed 256434 times

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#13 Post by guinness » Wed May 29, 2013 1:35 am

Ha ha, nice image tproli!

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#14 Post by tproli » Wed May 29, 2013 1:36 am


User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?

#15 Post by guinness » Wed May 29, 2013 2:44 am

I'm not moving from Opera just yet, but this article turned up on Ghacks >> http://www.ghacks.net/2013/05/29/whats- ... ternative/

Post Reply