Sandboxie becomes free

Share interesting information or links related to portable apps here.
billon

Sandboxie becomes free

#1 Post by billon »

https://www.sandboxie.com/
Sophos is excited to announce that we are making Sandboxie a free tool, with plans to transition it to an open source tool.
Until the open source transition is completed we have decided to make all restricted features of Sandboxie completely free.

Special

Re: Sandboxie become free

#2 Post by Special »

Fantastic news for those who don't have a lifetime license or were too cheap before, and a great way to test programs for portability. *wink *wink

I consider this one of the very few "must have" software's that everyone should install on every PC, I've been using it for several years now and I'm a big fan (if you couldn't tell already), and I'm glad the new owner is keeping it alive in some form or another.

webfork

#3 Post by webfork »

...we are making Sandboxie a free tool, with plans to transition it to an open source tool
This is a very good thing for a lot of people. While the interface is a little odd and it takes some getting used to, it's a mature, well tested, and documented sandbox program. This is useful of course for our users that want to do portability testing, but it's also very useful for security, file analysis, system testing, and much more. I'm very happy they were willing to open both the commercial license and the code.

SYSTEM

#4 Post by SYSTEM »

Windows's built-in sandbox is another option for Windows 10 users: https://www.thewindowsclub.com/windows-sandbox
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

Specular

#5 Post by Specular »

SYSTEM wrote: Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:56 pm Windows's built-in sandbox is another option for Windows 10 users: https://www.thewindowsclub.com/windows-sandbox