Starter

Submit portable freeware that you find here. It helps if you include information like description, extraction instruction, Unicode support, whether it writes to the registry, and so on.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2437
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

Starter

#1 Post by Andrew Lee » Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:00 pm

Application name: Starter

Website: http://members.lycos.co.uk/codestuff/pr ... arter.html

Date tested: 2006-05-13

Status: Not portable

Reason: Writes settings to registry.

xor
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 11:02 pm

Re: Starter

#2 Post by xor » Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:02 pm

http://codestuff.obninsk.ru/products_starter.html
Can anyone test for portability.... Again?

billon
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: Starter

#3 Post by billon » Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:28 pm

Portable, if you create file Starter.ini inside program folder before first launch.

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4146
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: Starter

#4 Post by I am Baas » Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:23 pm

Bəəs 2.0

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 9364
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: Starter

#5 Post by webfork » Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:51 pm

xor wrote:Can anyone test for portability.... Again?
It’s easily the best program of it’s kind that I've tested, though getting a little old with no listing for anything above Vista.

User avatar
smaragdus
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Aeaea

Re: Starter

#6 Post by smaragdus » Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:49 am

It is a pity that Starter hasn't been updated for so long and very likely it is abandoned for good but surprisingly it still works just fine on Windows 8 x64 which proves that well-written software ages slower.

@Moderators
Since Starter is portable I suggest this thread to be moved to the Portable Freeware Submission sub-forum.

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 9364
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: Starter

#7 Post by webfork » Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:39 am

smaragdus wrote:Since Starter is portable I suggest this thread to be moved
Done. Not sure how I missed that.

User avatar
smaragdus
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Aeaea

Re: Starter

#8 Post by smaragdus » Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:15 pm

@webfork
Thanks.

User avatar
tactictoe
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:56 am
Location: A galaxy far far downunder
Contact:

Re: Starter

#9 Post by tactictoe » Mon Feb 15, 2016 5:41 am

Works fine under my windows 8.1 64bits. Just to let you know... because...
Advertised here to work till win 7 and where I download it (http://codestuff.obninsk.ru/) it said till win vista but as you all said it is an old software (17.05.2009 - Starter v5.6.2.9)
Like it. Moved it to my work thumbdrive.
“You never fail until you stop trying.”

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Starter

#10 Post by joby_toss » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:41 pm

I can't get Starter to show me installed 64 bit apps in startup on my win7x64...

User avatar
tactictoe
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:56 am
Location: A galaxy far far downunder
Contact:

Re: Starter

#11 Post by tactictoe » Mon Feb 15, 2016 5:38 pm

joby_toss wrote:I can't get Starter to show me installed 64 bit apps in startup on my win7x64...
Must be an option... somewhere, it does show some startup 64bit software on my PC but I did not modify any options. I cannot see any options related to 64Bits apps. I guess it is inside the code you could have an answer... :(
“You never fail until you stop trying.”

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Starter

#12 Post by joby_toss » Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:08 am

Example:

WhatInStartup
64 bit
Image

Starter
Image

Note:
WhatInStartup 32 bit also fails in displaying installed 64 bit apps, same as Starter.
Sysinternals Autoruns works fine, but this one shows absolutely everything anyway. It has only one drawback: it can't be used to ADD entries.

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 1923
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Starter

#13 Post by SYSTEM » Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:19 am

joby_toss wrote:Example:

WhatInStartup
64 bit
Image
Ah, right. Your screenshot explains why it happens.

"Startup Type" of RTHDVCPL is "Registry - Machine Run". In other words, the program starts because it is in the "automatically started programs" list in Windows registry. ("Machine Run", in particular, means HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run.)

The problem is registry redirection, which is part of WoW64. When a 32-bit program tries to obtain a list of automatically starting programs, it actually accesses HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run, without knowing it. The WOW6432Node copy of CurrentVersion\Run, in turn, only contains programs that themselves were added by 32-bit programs (which were redirected when they tried to write to CurrentVersion\Run), i.e. 32-bit installers. In other words, a 32-bit "automatically starting programs" application can only show programs which were installed with 32-bit installers, which of course are nearly always 32-bit programs.
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

User avatar
tactictoe
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:56 am
Location: A galaxy far far downunder
Contact:

Re: Starter

#14 Post by tactictoe » Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:39 am

SYSTEM wrote: Ah, right. Your screenshot explains why it happens.

"Startup Type" of RTHDVCPL is "Registry - Machine Run". In other words, the program starts because it is in the "automatically started programs" list in Windows registry. ("Machine Run", in particular, means HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run.)

The problem is registry redirection, which is part of WoW64. When a 32-bit program tries to obtain a list of automatically starting programs, it actually accesses HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run, without knowing it. The WOW6432Node copy of CurrentVersion\Run, in turn, only contains programs that themselves were added by 32-bit programs (which were redirected when they tried to write to CurrentVersion\Run), i.e. 32-bit installers. In other words, a 32-bit "automatically starting programs" application can only show programs which were installed with 32-bit installers, which of course are nearly always 32-bit programs.
I should have know that one, shame on me. :oops: But was close as I said the answer was in the code. Thanks System for this information.
“You never fail until you stop trying.”

Post Reply