Listary

Submit portable freeware that you find here. It helps if you include information like description, extraction instruction, Unicode support, whether it writes to the registry, and so on.
Message
Author
User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Listary

#16 Post by joby_toss » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:03 am

guinness wrote:OK, I used Universal Extractor to extract the installer, I presume the Hook and Listary files label with 1 are 32bit and 2 is 64bit. Could someone confirm if this is correct.
It's the other way around.
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Listary

#17 Post by guinness » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:16 am

Cool! I should download Universal Viewer with that FileInfo plugin! Thanks for checking JT!
Added 179 Applications: Portable

Listary
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:31 am

Re: Listary

#18 Post by Listary » Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:06 am

Tertius wrote:Running XP SP3 and getting an error message.

Listary.exe - Entry Point Not Found
The procedure entry point SHGetKnownFolderPath could not be located in the dynamic link library SHELL32.dll.


I do not have a modified SHELL32.dll, so I am confused what could be wrong. Does Listary replace the standard shell32 dll with a modified one?
Sorry for the inconvenience. I added a new feature yesterday which used SHGetKnownFolderPath and didn't notice this API was available only on Vista or newer versions. :oops:

The bug has been fixed now, please download the latest version here: http://www.listary.com/download/Listary.exe

Listary
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:31 am

Re: Listary

#19 Post by Listary » Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:11 am

freakazoid wrote:Hmm... this program doesn't do anything for me.

I'm trying to activate the window by opening Windows Explorer to a folder with lots of files.
I'm on Windows XP SP3 with the same config as joby_toss.

No error messages though.

Am I doing something wrong?
Set focus to the file list first. When you try to select a file by typing the filename, Listary will show up to help.

Listary
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:31 am

Re: Listary

#20 Post by Listary » Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:24 am

The official portable version can be downloaded here: http://www.listary.com/download/portable.zip (including 32-bit and 64-bit versions)

Please don't hesitate to post here if you have any questions or suggestions, you can also send me emails: support(at)Listary.com

Tertius
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 3:41 pm

Re: Listary

#21 Post by Tertius » Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:15 pm

Very fast! Thanks for the update. It now works for me on XP. This is a great idea. I have always found it difficult to use explorer.exe in part because of the lack of just such a feature. I have a couple of suggestions: customizeable font and size (box obviously would have to be customizable) as well as hooking F3 so that it behaves like arrow down in the list box.

freakazoid
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: Listary

#22 Post by freakazoid » Sat Feb 13, 2010 9:53 pm

Listary wrote:
freakazoid wrote:Hmm... this program doesn't do anything for me.

I'm trying to activate the window by opening Windows Explorer to a folder with lots of files.
I'm on Windows XP SP3 with the same config as joby_toss.

No error messages though.

Am I doing something wrong?
Set focus to the file list first. When you try to select a file by typing the filename, Listary will show up to help.
Still getting nothing. Windows Explorer set on list, selecting a file and then typing doesn't bring up Listary!

I must be daft or something!
is it stealth? ;)

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Listary

#23 Post by guinness » Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:15 am

Thanks for the Portable Versions!

Code: Select all

Still getting nothing. Windows Explorer set on list, selecting a file and then typing doesn't bring up Listary!

I must be daft or something!
It seems stupid I am asking, but when you start Listary do you have a Windows Explorer window open? Because I found that if I have C:\Windows open and start Listary, it doesn't work. I have to close and reopen the window again for it to work.
Added 179 Applications: Portable

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Listary

#24 Post by guinness » Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:46 am

Added 179 Applications: Portable

freakazoid
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: Listary

#25 Post by freakazoid » Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:30 am

guinness wrote: It seems stupid I am asking, but when you start Listary do you have a Windows Explorer window open? Because I found that if I have C:\Windows open and start Listary, it doesn't work. I have to close and reopen the window again for it to work.
Just tried this... closed all Explorer windows, opened the "Run" dialog box and manually executed Listary.
Opened a new Windows Explorer window, selected a file, typed a letter, still nothing!

I swear it's something simple I'm overlooking...
is it stealth? ;)

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 9660
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: Listary

#26 Post by webfork » Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:40 pm

> Just tried this... closed all Explorer windows, opened the "Run" dialog box and manually executed Listary.
Opened a new Windows Explorer window, selected a file, typed a letter, still nothing!

Yeah not just you.

Onesimus Prime
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:42 pm

Re: Listary

#27 Post by Onesimus Prime » Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:45 pm

I may have a partial answer...

When I first tried Listary, I did have Explorer windows open. I also thought of closing them all and opening them again. Still nothing. But Listary worked on the desktop! So I ended every explorer.exe process--basically crashed the shell intentionally. (You can use ProcessKO or Nirsoft's Explorestart or plain old Task Manager for this.) It then worked. :lol: But I don't want to have to do that every time! And it didn't seem that others were having to either.

But a few days ago, I figured out that if I don't have any Explorer windows open when I first start Listary, then the whole shell-crashing thing seems to be unneeded and Listary works (except for one time that it crashed).

*immediate "edit"* - okay, I just tried this again and it didn't work this time. So I'm back in the dark!

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4148
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: Listary

#28 Post by I am Baas » Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:04 pm

Just gave Listary a try... doesn't work on my machine either. I'm on xp sp2.
Bəəs 2.0

Listary
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:31 am

Re: Listary

#29 Post by Listary » Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:52 am

Hello guys! A new minor version has just been released, and all the known bugs have been fixed now. Please try it again if it didn't work on your computer before.

Installer: http://www.listary.com/download/Listary.exe

Portable version: http://www.listary.com/download/portable.zip
Last edited by Listary on Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:42 am, edited 2 times in total.

Listary
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:31 am

Re: Listary

#30 Post by Listary » Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:57 am

freakazoid wrote:
guinness wrote: It seems stupid I am asking, but when you start Listary do you have a Windows Explorer window open? Because I found that if I have C:\Windows open and start Listary, it doesn't work. I have to close and reopen the window again for it to work.
Just tried this... closed all Explorer windows, opened the "Run" dialog box and manually executed Listary.
Opened a new Windows Explorer window, selected a file, typed a letter, still nothing!

I swear it's something simple I'm overlooking...
Please download the latest version and try again. If it still doesn't work, make sure your blacklist is empty (check it on Options/Blacklist).

Post Reply