StackNotes

Submit portable freeware that you find here. It helps if you include information like description, extraction instruction, Unicode support, whether it writes to the registry, and so on.
Message
Author
User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4148
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: StackNotes

#16 Post by I am Baas » Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:11 pm

h3kt0r wrote:I am Baas, there isn't "auto-check for update" implemented actually; you have to hit the "Homepage" button on the "About" tab in the "Options" dialog, to check by yourself if a new version was released at SourceForge via your browser.
As said, I just briefly tested StackNotes, and no, I am not interested in an update checker feature. I noticed that StackNotes touches the following files:

\Microsoft\Windows\History\History.IE5\container.dat
\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\counters.dat
\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\container.dat
\Microsoft\Windows\WebCache\WebCacheV01.dat
\Microsoft\Windows\WebCacheLock.dat

This suggested to me that connections are made. That is why I asked you if it calls home to check for updates.

I now realize that it is the "Manual" file.

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 5979
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: StackNotes

#17 Post by Midas » Mon Apr 25, 2016 2:23 am

h3kt0r wrote:you have to hit the "Homepage" button on the "About" tab in the "Options" dialog, to check by yourself if a new version was released at SourceForge via your browser.

User avatar
h3kt0r
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:50 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: StackNotes

#18 Post by h3kt0r » Mon Apr 25, 2016 5:13 pm

@I am Baas
Yes, the "Manual" file is displayed using IE engine. BTW, you can display any HTML file included as a resource inside an executable by typing "res://PathToYourProgram\ExecutableName.exe/ResourceName.html" inside the IE adress bar. Something worth to know for the curious people !

User avatar
h3kt0r
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:50 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: StackNotes

#19 Post by h3kt0r » Wed Apr 27, 2016 12:02 pm

Okay guys, the Control-Click on URL function is implemented. See first post.

User avatar
smaragdus
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Aeaea

Re: StackNotes

#20 Post by smaragdus » Thu Apr 28, 2016 8:18 am

@h3kt0r
Okay guys, the Control-Click on URL function is implemented. See first post.
Thanks, this is handy, regards.

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4148
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: StackNotes

#21 Post by I am Baas » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:49 am

h3kt0r wrote:@I am Baas
Yes, the "Manual" file is displayed using IE engine. BTW, you can display any HTML file included as a resource inside an executable by typing "res://PathToYourProgram\ExecutableName.exe/ResourceName.html" inside the IE adress bar. Something worth to know for the curious people !
Thanks. Does this method cause a slight delay in launching/displaying the GUI? In my brief testing, it seems as if StackNotes does take a bit longer to launch.

User avatar
h3kt0r
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:50 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: StackNotes

#22 Post by h3kt0r » Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:57 pm

Depends on what's already loaded in RAM. If you often use IE, or CHM files, the HTML page will probably load in a snap. If not, the system will take a moment to load the needed DLL in RAM before diplaying even a simple HTML page without pictures (like the "Manual" in StackNotes). Basically, it's just an embeded captionless IE window.

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4148
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: StackNotes

#23 Post by I am Baas » Fri May 13, 2016 6:11 pm

StackNotes version 1.0.2.7 released (12-05-2016)


Changelog?

User avatar
h3kt0r
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:50 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: StackNotes

#24 Post by h3kt0r » Sat May 14, 2016 11:24 am

StackNotes version 1.0.2.8 released (14-05-2016)
See first post for changelog.

User avatar
smaragdus
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Aeaea

Re: StackNotes

#25 Post by smaragdus » Sat May 14, 2016 11:45 pm

@h3kt0r
There is a undocumented change in version 1.0.2.8 which forced me to keep using version 1.0.2.7 for now- you have removed the "Minimize" and "Maximize" buttons, why? In version 1.0.2.7 it is possible to minimize StackNotes to task-bar and close it to tray which is my preferred setup. I don't find the removal of title buttons a great idea.

Why don't you include a version history text file inside the archive (for fast viewing of "what's new")?

Regards

User avatar
h3kt0r
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:50 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: StackNotes

#26 Post by h3kt0r » Sun May 15, 2016 12:50 am

Hi,
yes i too, was thinking about including a version history file with the package; i'll do it in the next update. Hrrrmm. As for the removing of the "MinMAx" buttons, well, i was just trying something that seemed comfortable to me. i'm still running XP and the program won't minimize when i click the button in the title bar. It sticks itself in the upper left corner of the screen and loose the focus. But this is probably my shell that is at fault : i'm running BlackBox for Windows (BB4win) and sometimes programs may not respond correctly if the shell is not Explorer. I'll upload an updated version today.
Thanks for the feedback

*edit* : okay, uploaded the fixed version, find it at SourceForge under this name : "StackNotes_v1.0.2.8_(Fixed).zip"

User avatar
smaragdus
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Aeaea

Re: StackNotes

#27 Post by smaragdus » Sun May 15, 2016 1:17 am

@h3kt0r
i'm still running XP and the program won't minimize when i click the button in the title bar. It sticks itself in the upper left corner of the screen and loose the focus.
The same happens here when "Stick to desktop borders" is enabled. But with this setup:
StackNotes 1.0.2.7 - 2016-05-15 - 002.png
StackNotes 1.0.2.7 - 2016-05-15 - 002.png (9.2 KiB) Viewed 24658 times
StackNotes minimizes just fine to task-bar. It seems that the "Minimize" problem is caused by "Stick to desktop borders" option enabled. (My system- Windows 8 x64).

User avatar
smaragdus
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Aeaea

Re: StackNotes

#28 Post by smaragdus » Sun May 15, 2016 1:45 am

@h3kt0r
One more thing, I have dwonloaded 3 different editions of StackNotes 1.0.2.8:

StackNotes 1.0.2.8 (1), from 2016-05-14/20:45
MD5: 9DC3BC43B8448A6D5766FC15731104D8
SHA-1: 6EDF0CB3487329368769DC5CB67713E895809EE6
SHA-256: 2647BDD0394B3AD4CACA8DB4D84AC0BAFE506A6D520370D2D3825AFD9070CB16

..

StackNotes 1.0.2.8 (2), from 2016-05-15/06:01
MD5: 393E6589E6A674B4D47EF29525343EFD
SHA-1: 9EC7E57FBF43F1F40FCD48963287D0606532A82A
SHA-256: 8601723A1D28B0F27DA64D842D877418A3E96174164679DB7548E42B47289BC0

..

StackNotes 1.0.2.8 (3), from 2016-05-15/11:38
MD5: 1734DB4251A81D0FBF154A7C309F754F
SHA-1: 6ED0BBC32BC09439E7B6D5C31B5BF5A73EAEE473
SHA-256: C09F6B6C80F9C92A07EC304A0E25F4DB3091B02CC7EE67458D757BC347654299

..

which may cause confusion- the users may not be aware that there is a new, fixed release with the same version number. This also may be a problem if a download site lists a download link with check-sums for it. Don't you think that it would be better when you make a minor change to release these fixed builds with this versioning pattern- StackNotes 1.0.2.8, StackNotes 1.0.2.8a, StackNotes 1.0.2.8b, StackNotes 1.0.2.8c, etc? This way it would be obvious that there is a new fixed release.

User avatar
h3kt0r
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:50 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: StackNotes

#29 Post by h3kt0r » Sun May 15, 2016 5:07 am

StackNotes minimizes just fine to task-bar. It seems that the "Minimize" problem is caused by "Stick to desktop borders" option enabled. (My system- Windows 8 x64).
:? I should have noticed that ! Hidden in plain sight... I'll find a workaround right away.
And yes, hat's a very good advice for versionning you're providing here; i must confess that i didn't think about it seriously before but that sounds good to me. I'll do that from now on, it will be very much less confusing for both the users and to me.
Thanks !

:arrow: * Edit * : The "Minimize" bug is fixed; now you can have the "Stick to desktop borders" option active and minimize the program to taskbar without a problem.
I've also added a DIZ file and an "History" one to the package to put things in order.
And i'll stick with the versioning pattern suggested above.
So, current release is : StackNotes v1.0.2.8a

User avatar
smaragdus
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Aeaea

Re: StackNotes 1.0.3.1a

#30 Post by smaragdus » Mon May 15, 2017 4:50 pm

StackNotes at version 1.0.3.1a, latest changes:
--(updated Monday 1st July, 2016)--
version 1.0.3.1a
- what's new : Fixed and improved alphablending routine.

--(updated Monday 1st June, 2016)--
version 1.0.3.1
- what's new : Remade the screen capture plugin, is now integrated within StackNotes. Removed obsolete "Capture.dll". Improved menus handling and navigation between pages; now it really feels like flipping through the pages of a book. Working on the "Contacts" plugin...

--(updated Monday 30th May, 2016)--
version 1.0.3.0a
- Improved Recorder plugin : added an options tab.

--(updated Saturday 28th May, 2016)--
version 1.0.3.0
- Added a sound recorder plugin working with the latest release of LAME MP3 encoder.

--(updated Wednesday 25th May, 2016)--
version 1.0.2.9
- Added a "Snapshot" function under "Plugins" menu to provide basic screen capture capacity. You can capture a window or control to Bitmap file.

--(updated Sunday 21st May, 2016)--
version 1.0.2.8e (minor upgrade)
- Added an "Export to TXT files" function.

version 1.0.2.8e (minor upgrade)
Improved the "autoscroll" function : now works correctly with [F2] key. Updated the documentation.

--(updated Thursday 19th May, 2016)--
version 1.0.2.8c (minor upgrade)
- Added an "Autoscroll" function. Some small changes in the GUI.

--(updated Monday 16th May, 2016)--
version 1.0.2.8a (bug fix release)
- Fixed a bug that prevented minimizing StackNotes window if the
"Stick to desktop borders" option was activated. Fixed a bug with the "Search
TOC" function that prevented the search box to get the focus when activated.
Added a "File_id.diz" file and an "History.txt" file to the package upon user
request. Significantly reduced the program size using the "--ultra-brute" switch
on UPX command-line (Ultimate Packer for eXecutables).
A change log file (History.txt) is included in the package.

@h3kt0r

I hope that you are doing fine and version 1.0.3.1a will not be the last release of StackNotes.

Post Reply