calibre

Submit portable freeware that you find here. It helps if you include information like description, extraction instruction, Unicode support, whether it writes to the registry, and so on.
Message
Author
User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4146
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Calibre

#1 Post by I am Baas » Thu May 26, 2011 7:24 pm

Creating your own portable/customized calibre install

I get an error every time I run the batch file. Can any of you batch experts look into this?

Cheers.
Bəəs 2.0

donald
Posts: 562
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:14 am
Location: knoxville TN USA

Re: Calibre

#2 Post by donald » Fri May 27, 2011 4:39 pm

Is Calibre in the root folder??? A folder in the root of the drive. EG: if calibre.exe is in the calibre folder then it should look like x:\calibre\calibre.exe in the address bar on explorer (You may have to click the address bar to see this. And X is to substitute the actual drive letter which will be different.)

In the batch file it should look like \calibre\calibre.exe
The calibre-portable.bat file makes the following assumptions about the folder layout that is being used:

Code: Select all

Calibre_Root_Folder
    calibre-portable.bat    The batch file used to start Calibre
    Calibre2                The Calibre binaries
    CalibreLibrary          The Calibre Library
    CalibreConfig           The Calibre user preferences
    CalibreSource           The calibre source (optional) if running a development environment.
If you want to use a different folder layout then the calibre-portable.bat file will need editing appropriately. This file can be edited using any appropriate text editor.

If I am reading this correctly when your drive letter is X your path to the Calibre exe should be x:\calibre\calibre.exe

If you were to put calibre in a portableapps folder then it would look like this \portableapps\calibre\calibre.exe
and have this address x:\portableapps\calibre\calibre.exe

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4146
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: Calibre

#3 Post by I am Baas » Fri May 27, 2011 8:13 pm

Thank you for looking into it, donald. I believe I followed the exact same instructions but can't check right now. Will post here later.

Cheers.
Bəəs 2.0

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4146
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: Calibre

#4 Post by I am Baas » Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:40 pm

Finally, there is a Calibre portable build @

http://calibre-ebook.com/download_portable

It writes to the registry the usual Trolltech keys but that's easy to handle.

@donald
Thanks again for your help.
Bəəs 2.0

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2437
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

calibre

#5 Post by Andrew Lee » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:29 pm

I have posted calibre to the database, courtesy of I am Baas:

http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?id=2119

calibre is a well-known and popular ebook library management system with support for numerous physical ebook devices. It comes with its own ebook reader software as well.

Please vote if you would like it!

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: calibre

#6 Post by joby_toss » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:43 am

Few notes:
Upgrading
If you want to upgrade a previous version of calibre portable, download the latest version from here and replace the "Calibre Library" and "Calibre Settings" folders in your new download with the same folders from you old calibre portable.
The calibre portable build can be run on any windows computer running at least Windows XP SP3.
Additional download location, where you'll also find some video tutorials for download:
http://code.google.com/p/calibre-ebook/downloads/list

The "not stealth" status refers to the Trolltech registry keys, not some Calibre settings.

I also rectified the package size.

Thanks for adding! Voted! :)

User avatar
ChemZ
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Earth

Re: calibre

#7 Post by ChemZ » Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:38 am

:D Highly recommended :D

- Easy to use
- Easy search
- Very versatile
- Very customizable (GUI and library organization)
- Easy to download metadata for your book from several sources
- Practically supports every eBook format you're gonna come across
- Can convert to practically any eBook format you're gonna come across

Great software for managing and organizating your eBooks, it's like an all-in-one do-it-all piece of kit. Maybe the only thing I can see missing right now is an editing feature, it would be nice to be able to do some quick editing.

But no big loss, you can always try Sigil, a dedicated eBook editor. Shame it's not portable at the moment, but still recommended. :)

carbonize
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:16 am
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: calibre

#8 Post by carbonize » Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:45 am

been using Calibre ever since I got my first ebook reader a year or so ago. It is by far the best ebook library management software available.

As to Sigil I have used it in the past but it is so slow and resource hungry I gave up fixing formatting errors in my books and just learned to live with them.

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4146
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: calibre

#9 Post by I am Baas » Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:16 pm

Thank you Andrew & joby_toss. I know I have quite a few applications to add to the DB. Hope to find the time soon.

Cheers.
Bəəs 2.0

User avatar
ChemZ
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Earth

Re: calibre

#10 Post by ChemZ » Fri Jul 01, 2011 12:16 am

The calibre portable build can be run on any windows computer running at least Windows XP SP3.
Has been fine running on XP SP2 as well.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: calibre

#11 Post by joby_toss » Fri Jul 01, 2011 12:21 am

This is a statement of the authors, on their website.
Maybe not all the features are working properly? I don't know.

lautrepay
Posts: 711
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:31 am

Re: calibre

#12 Post by lautrepay » Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:26 pm

Apparently, the zip packaged version of calibre2opds is portable (didn't test).
If you manage your eBooks collection with Calibre, this tool will allow you to generate an OPDS compatible XML catalog (Stanza and Aldiko use this standard), complete with cross-references, and external links to interesting web pages about your books. This catalog can be used with OPDS compatible reading software/devices to browse your catalog online and download items of interest.

In addition, an HTML version of your catalog can also be generated, allowing access from any browser-based ebook reader (e.g. a netbook with Firefox and ePubReader).

Requires : Java 1.5 or higher, Calibre 0.6 or higher, and optionally a mean of publishing the catalogs (e.g. a Dropbox account) so that they are visible on the public internet.

User avatar
Magibon
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:24 pm

Re: calibre

#13 Post by Magibon » Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:10 am

i tried to create an NSIS launcher for this but can't figure out why it refuses to work.

Im using

Code: Select all

DeleteRegKey HKEY_CURRENT_USER "Software\Trolltech
and yes.. i have:

Code: Select all

!include "Registry.nsh"
.

anyone have an idea?

Note:
the launcher successfully compiles, launches, and terminates.

Hydaral
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:36 pm

Re: calibre

#14 Post by Hydaral » Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:49 am

I believe the registry "functions" are actually macros, so it's a different syntax:

Code: Select all

${registry::DeleteKey} "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Trolltech"

User avatar
Magibon
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:24 pm

Re: calibre

#15 Post by Magibon » Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:25 am

Hydaral wrote:I believe the registry "functions" are actually macros, so it's a different syntax:

Code: Select all

${registry::DeleteKey} "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Trolltech"
thanks for the help.. but that's not the correct syntax.
im familiar with NSIS and have successfully compiled many launchers.

It's Calibre.. i think it's causing a problem because of the way it's been created by it's developers.
It's already in a 'Portable' format.. .which i think might be the problem.

For instance. .. i created a launcher for Autoruns which is basically the same source: clean up a registry key after terminating.
it works fine.. same code.. same syntax.. which is why i think it's Calibre itself that's the problem.

It's no big deal.. i'll just add the key to CCleaner :)

Post Reply