How do you deal with window positions?

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
Message
Author
dasfx
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 8:39 am
Contact:

How do you deal with window positions?

#1 Post by dasfx » Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:01 pm

One of the only annoyances that I have with "living portable" is windows placement. I have a couple of apps that remember their window positions, which is nice and all, but at work I use a 24" widescreen monitor, while at home I have a laptop with a much smaller screen. The result is windows that find their way far off the screen.
I wrote a small hotkey (gotta love AutoHotkey) to move the active window to the upper left hand corner of the screen, and have also used Winlister (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/winlister.html) although it isn't' strictly portable.

Just interested to hear if others have the same issue and how you deal with it.

DasFX

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2692
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

#2 Post by Andrew Lee » Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:49 pm

I normally right-click on the taskbar button for the app, select "Move", then use Win+arrow keys to bring the app window back into visible space.

Erind
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:11 pm

#3 Post by Erind » Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:30 pm

My Drill Instructors used to say "K.I.S.S." Keep It Simple, Stupid. I like that idea, Andrew... never realized you could use the arrow keys.

User avatar
Fluffy
Posts: 458
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 6:37 pm

#4 Post by Fluffy » Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:17 pm

Dealing with window positions after switching to a different resolution? Why, there's Andrew's method that works flawlessly, but there's also an aid in case you've got a short fuse: Lots of beef jerky. Just bite down until the rage subsides. ;)

jscottmurray
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:45 am

#5 Post by jscottmurray » Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:48 am

There's an old app on Tin's Toys which I've used to wow the users when they lose a window: DeskLite. Here's a link - http://desktopian.org/lsapps/desklite.zip

It lists all open windows. A double-click on any list entry centers the window. And it's portable!

User avatar
Fluffy
Posts: 458
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 6:37 pm

#6 Post by Fluffy » Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:32 pm

I know DM2 can do this with a hotkey as well, I'm looking into the exact command now. Unfortunately the window has to be active, so if you're like me and you have fungusClock set up for the upper-right area of the screen you're out of luck.

User avatar
Checker
Posts: 1624
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:00 pm
Location: Ingolstadt [DE]

Re: How do you deal with window positions?

#7 Post by Checker » Mon Aug 29, 2011 3:44 am

dasfx wrote:... and have also used Winlister (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/winlister.html) although it isn't' strictly portable. ...
I've added WinLister to the DB. The configuration is now saved to a file, instead of the registry.

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 10018
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: How do you deal with window positions?

#8 Post by webfork » Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:49 am

Checker wrote:I've added WinLister to the DB.
Thanks

User avatar
usdcs
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 11:54 am

Re: How do you deal with window positions?

#9 Post by usdcs » Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:26 am

@DasFX: Would you care to publish your AHK script?

User avatar
Checker
Posts: 1624
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:00 pm
Location: Ingolstadt [DE]

Re: How do you deal with window positions?

#10 Post by Checker » Tue Aug 30, 2011 12:25 pm

usdcs wrote:@DasFX: Would you care to publish your AHK script?
dasfx last visited: 07 Dec 2007, 03:08 :wink:

User avatar
usdcs
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 11:54 am

Re: How do you deal with window positions?

#11 Post by usdcs » Tue Aug 30, 2011 6:36 pm

Whew! I didn't realize that!

I was just wrestling with this issue. Fortunately, it's solved for now.

Thanks!

lautrepay
Posts: 711
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:31 am

Re: How do you deal with window positions?

#12 Post by lautrepay » Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:14 pm

There are two interesting applications to handle windows positions: AutoSizer and WinSize2.
I've got better results with the last one, athough it's not very intuitive.
The bad side is that none of them is portable, but perhaps good candidates to a wrapper.

Image

Image

---

[Moderator note: further discussion of WinSize2 was split to a separate thread.]

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: How do you deal with window positions?

#13 Post by guinness » Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:09 am

It seemed strange that an AutoHotKey app was not natively portable...
This is a misconception that all AHK and AutoIt applications are not Portable, it's just the same as any other language, e.g. cpp is Portable until you request to write to the registry.

lautrepay
Posts: 711
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:31 am

Re: How do you deal with window positions?

#14 Post by lautrepay » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:38 am

guinness wrote:This is a misconception that all AHK and AutoIt applications are not Portable, it's just the same as any other language, e.g. cpp is Portable until you request to write to the registry.
You're right about that, but I was referring to the fact that it is difficult to find an AutoIt/AutoHotKey application that does not offer, at least, the possibility of making it behave as portable.
Is it perhaps a matter of tradition among AutoIt/AutoHotKey developers?

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: How do you deal with window positions?

#15 Post by guinness » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:48 am

It's pure coincidence that most AutoIt/AHK developers prefer to write to an INI file than the registry and it could be due to lack of knowledge too for some!

I personally don't (not because I don't understand the registry) but I prefer use an INI file, just the same as Opera does.

Post Reply