Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ? (2)

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
Message
Author
Emka
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:31 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#46 Post by Emka » Sat Dec 11, 2010 4:02 am

I have some problems with my Opera11: userjs and extensions do not work
Could it be that you have to increase the User JS Storage Quota in opera:config? At least that's what got the NoAds extension working for me.
"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better."
-- Samuel Beckett

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#47 Post by joby_toss » Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:02 am

Hey, thanks!
Extensions are working now (I put a 500 value instead of the default 0 in User JS Storage Quota field).
But scripts like Linkify don't, although Image Sizer extension (based on userjs being activated) works.
I'm puzzled, again! :)

Emka
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:31 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#48 Post by Emka » Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:22 am

I don't know if you're using NoAds, which also blocks scripts and is still buggy. (Since NoAds seemed to prevent sorting of eBay search results on my test machine, I switched to AdSweep.) Or one of your other extensions interferes with scripts or the problem simply has to be attributed to Opera11's beta status.
"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better."
-- Samuel Beckett

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 1937
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#49 Post by SYSTEM » Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:29 am

My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#50 Post by joby_toss » Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:43 am

Yes, I use NoAds...but I fail to see why this extension blocks userjs (if so...I'll look into this). Thanks!

Another issue: Opera 11 keeps creating a hidden desktop.ini file on my desktop, with the following content:

Code: Select all

[.ShellClassInfo]
LocalizedResourceName=@%SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll,-21769
IconResource=%SystemRoot%\system32\imageres.dll,-183
Any ideas?

Edit: No, it's not NoAds fault! Linkify still does not work. But other scripts do work... I want a working Linkifyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy ! :)

Ruby
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#51 Post by Ruby » Sat Dec 11, 2010 7:24 pm

joby_toss wrote:Another issue: Opera 11 keeps creating a hidden desktop.ini file on my desktop, with the following content:

Code: Select all

[.ShellClassInfo]
LocalizedResourceName=@%SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll,-21769
IconResource=%SystemRoot%\system32\imageres.dll,-183
Any ideas?
Opera's not creating that, that's a shell folder icon resource for the 'Desktop' see here.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#52 Post by joby_toss » Sat Dec 11, 2010 9:22 pm

Hmm...

Let me try again:
  • I have nothing on my Desktop.
    My Desktop folder has that blue customized icon in Windows Explorer and in any other explorer like FC, TC, XY etc.
    I start many applications (including Opera 10).
    My Desktop is still empty (absolutely no icons).
    I start Opera 11 ("C:\Users\joby_toss\Desktop" path is nowhere in settings, I don't use this one for anything).
    That „desktop.ini” file appears (I can actually see it being created) on my Desktop and it has the „hidden” attribute.
Isn't this strange?

I used "desktop.ini" files myself many times before, when trying to customize some folder's icon.
Opera 11 did not behave like this when I first tried it; only 3 versions ago this started.

Ruby
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#53 Post by Ruby » Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:53 pm

Seems like an issue/bug, a couple of reports already for 32/64.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#54 Post by joby_toss » Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:10 am

Thank you!

Every time I have a strange issue like this, it is very hard for me to find someone else with similar issue!
Don't know how you found that link! :)

Ruby
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#55 Post by Ruby » Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:45 am

It's all in the query (Google), can't remember exactly what it was though.
Something like; 'desktop.ini being created by opera'.

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#56 Post by guinness » Wed Dec 15, 2010 3:48 am

The last 24hours has been busy at Opera. Now Opera V11 is RC2 - http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/20 ... er-not-cry :D
Added 179 Applications: Portable

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 1937
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#57 Post by SYSTEM » Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:10 am

My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#58 Post by guinness » Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 am

No surprise Opera has posted something like this :D I really hope Opera has a truly successful 2011, because they're the company that just keeps giving!
Added 179 Applications: Portable

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#59 Post by guinness » Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:47 am

And now RC3 is available - http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/20 ... andidate-3

I have a sneaking suspicion that this might be the Final Version, or then again it might not be. Opera have been known to whip out 6 Releases Candidates before a Final Version.
Added 179 Applications: Portable

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#60 Post by guinness » Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:17 pm

I just found this >> http://get1.opera.com/pub/opera/win/1100/ which suggests that this will be the Final release (unless Opera makes another surprise) See below...the versions are the same but MD5 is different!
RC3 -
V11.00.1156
MD5: 8EE12B1AB5C97BF66FE32A2FBFB6AA70

Final -
V11.00.1156
MD5: 4DCBBE6485B3C3B3A5C17C4A78425D61
Added 179 Applications: Portable

Post Reply