JauntePE vs Sandboxie for browser security (sandboxing)

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
-.-

JauntePE vs Sandboxie for browser security (sandboxing)

#1 Post by -.- »

I've been running portable firefox inside a jpe sandbox for about 1-2 months now and had no problems and liking it so far.
Now that I've used this for a while and having used sandboxie in the past with firefox, I'm almost ready to drop the sandboxie/firefox combination. I'm just wondering if anyone has any reasons not to? lol.

What I like about jaunte/firefox is it runs without having something else in background like sandboxie does. Plus I can fit it on a flash drive and run it without starting a portable sandboxie...

I've got a firewall so I know what is coming/going so that feature of sandboxie I don't need since I can block/allow connections with firewall. Aside from that, is there anything else that sandboxie can do that jaunte cant? I mean just related to browser security. I've tested it and it does stop toolbars from installing outside of sandbox so system still stays safe. One thing I've seen is extension/firefox passes through jaunte but that is only because I've set it to do that. Plus I don't mind it so much since I can just delete profile folder and use a back up of it from FEBE.

edit: here's my firefox setup for time being, I've modified the ahk launcher but still basically the same.
http://www.portablefreeware.com/forums/ ... =10&t=6426

Napiophelios

Re: JauntePE vs Sandboxie for browser security (sandboxing)

#2 Post by Napiophelios »

If you just mean to portabilize the program or appdata folders
then I would say use the JauntePE setup.
For overall security I think you are better off running sandboxie
just incase you do encounter something malicious while surfing the web.

I have never thought to rely on JPE to be a security tool;
would be nice to know how it would handle sandboxing some serious malware.