Daemon Tools Portable

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
txus

Daemon Tools Portable

#1 Post by txus »

Well, I'm new here. I searched for some answers, but i couldn't find it.

I tried a daemon tools portable version. But, I've got problems with SDTP. This is a problem with a .sys file.
I guess I know the answer: if we can pack the .sys in the portable abdaleon, then, when we ejecute the application, the file will be there, with the application. But, I'm not a programmer and I'm not sure how to do it.

If this file must be in a special directory in order to get abdaleon working, then, we can pack it and make an .exe wich copies the file to the correct directory. When we exit the application, the same .exe erase the file.

I ask anyone of you to answer this post and discuss about it, 'cause i saw I'm not the only one with this problem.

I got an application to do portable installed programs. It worked with Fruty Loops, CuteFTP, FileZilla FTP, Adobe CS3, QuarkXpress 8, and many more applications. But, it failed against Daemon Tools. Perhaps I can upload to some server and you tried it.

Txus

PD: I'm from Spain, so my English is not real good. Sorry for it

freakazoid

Re: Daemon Tools Portable

#2 Post by freakazoid »

Hi txus,

Everyone here will say that Daemon Tools isn't portable because of that SDTP driver.

Hopefully someone can prove me wrong!

If your image is an .ISO, you can use Virtual CDRom Control Panel:
http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?sc=246

That's portable.
is it stealth? ;)

joby_toss

#3 Post by joby_toss »

It is not portable ...
But it could be, I think (with an nsis launcher for example); it just needs administrator rights.

There is a copy around of a portable UltraIso that can mount disk images (and it works well). It's just that's illegal. It is on a blog with portable appz. :wink:

tproli

#4 Post by tproli »

No way. Daemon Tools SDTP driver needs reboot - enough said.

txus

#5 Post by txus »