Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ? (3)

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
Message
Author
freakazoid
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#16 Post by freakazoid » Mon Aug 01, 2011 5:29 pm

@joby_toss - Download crash bug?
is it stealth? ;)

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#17 Post by tproli » Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 am

I got that crash too. But you're lucky because it's a bug that will be fixed soon. Some month earlier (at v.11) my Opera crashed a lot and I couldn't figure out what was the problem. I switched to Chrome for a while but fortunately newer builds of Opera was stable for me too.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#18 Post by joby_toss » Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:08 am

freakazoid wrote:@joby_toss - Download crash bug?
I can't find the official bug-code, but read here the comments:
http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/20 ... ta-qresync

taotra
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#19 Post by taotra » Wed Aug 03, 2011 10:41 am

zak_711 wrote:I think it's a fake survey.
Respect! You had it right all along.

http://www.ctv.ca/CTVNews/SciTech/20110 ... ry-110803/


zak_711
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 1:44 am

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#21 Post by zak_711 » Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:59 am

I don't like discriminations. If they had to be they should be based on what you did and what you didn't, and stilll on what you could have done. If I was a smooth criminal ... :D :D :D

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#22 Post by SYSTEM » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:09 am

Opera has got complete ECMAScript 5.1 support! :)

http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/2011/09/13/es5
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#23 Post by guinness » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:59 am

Wow is the word that comes to mind, I wonder how Firefox 6/7/8/9/10/11/12 do on the ECMAScript test?
Added 179 Applications: Portable

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#24 Post by SYSTEM » Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:45 pm

guinness wrote:Wow is the word that comes to mind, I wonder how Firefox 6/7/8/9/10/11/12 do on the ECMAScript test?
Quite well in fact. Before this snapshot, Opera was badly lagging behind in ECMAScript support.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ie/archive/2011 ... lable.aspx

I ran the test with Pale Moon 5.0 and got 253 failures (success rate 97,7 %).
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

lautrepay
Posts: 711
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:31 am

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#25 Post by lautrepay » Tue Sep 13, 2011 8:41 pm

SYSTEM wrote:
guinness wrote:Wow is the word that comes to mind, I wonder how Firefox 6/7/8/9/10/11/12 do on the ECMAScript test?
Quite well in fact. Before this snapshot, Opera was badly lagging behind in ECMAScript support.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ie/archive/2011 ... lable.aspx

I ran the test with Pale Moon 5.0 and got 253 failures (success rate 97,7 %).
Firefox 6.02: Total Tests Ran: 10978 | Pass: 10765 (98,056 %)| Fail: 213
(Yes, I could finally upgrade to v6.x)

User avatar
Magibon
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:24 pm

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#26 Post by Magibon » Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:52 am

joby_toss wrote:For the first time in many years I'm very close to ditch Opera. This download-crash bug is driving me insane! :evil: I hope they fix this for the next release. I might never use an unstable version again. I'm so upset. This bug is there for 2 weeks I think. I know they work hard, but my patience really is limited!

Complaining, complaining, complaining...this seems to by my main quality lately... :oops:

i don't have any problems.. when does this happen?


F.Y.I
Yesterday.. my Kaspersky Internet Security expired and thought long and hard about whether i wanted to go the freeware route, stick with KIS, or try another brand. I tried Comodo Internet Security but i couldn't figure out how to stop it from Sandboxing everything unknown. I spent hours reading, googling but never was able to figure that out. With Kaspersky, it gave you an option when a new software was launched.

I heard ESET released ESET Smart Security 5, so downloaded a trial.

It looks the same except for a few things, but notice the difference in performance right away. Even with all the security settings turned up to MAX.

Anyway.. the only thing ESET does not offer that KIS had is the Anti-Banner :(
I loved that thing.

i use Fanboy's Ad-block list with his CSS list, but there are still a few banners here and there that is missed.
I also use hostXblock's list in my "hosts" file + Spybot's Immunization.

Anyhow.. i searched high and low to figure out how to find the IP Address of Banners on webpages.
I never found out but found something equally useful: Opera's Content Blocking!

I have been using Opera for many years now and never knew about it.
Anyway.. it works!

figured this would be useful for Opera enthusiasts especially because Ad-Block is in-compatible.
Last edited by Magibon on Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#27 Post by joby_toss » Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:01 am

Magibon wrote:i don't have any problems.. when does this happen?
Oh, it was a bug introduced some weeks back. Opera crashed when the download window opened.
I posted later that they've fixed it.

User avatar
Magibon
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:24 pm

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#28 Post by Magibon » Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:09 am

joby_toss wrote:
Magibon wrote:i don't have any problems.. when does this happen?
Oh, it was a bug introduced some weeks back. Opera crashed when the download window opened.
I posted later that they've fixed it.

cool :)

i still experience a minor but VERY annoying bug.
when i enter a search term in the Speed Dial's search, and press Enter, a pop-up window pops up instead of jumping to Google :(
*someone mentioned it was due to the mouse so i always push my mouse up top and it still occurs.

i thought they had fixed it 2 releases ago, but it came back.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#29 Post by joby_toss » Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:21 am

Until they fix this, maybe you can use the address bar for quick searches (g <string>). I don't use any other search bars or methods.

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 12 standard portable or not ?

#30 Post by guinness » Mon Oct 10, 2011 2:59 pm

I thought it was worth a mention that a new OperaNext has been uploaded with noticeable fixes to the UI.

Blog: http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/20 ... tant-fixes

Another reason why Opera is so great: http://lifehacker.com/5844150/browser-s ... 9-and-more
Added 179 Applications: Portable

Post Reply