Barcode generator?

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Kermode
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:59 am

Barcode generator?

#1 Post by Kermode » Sat Jun 11, 2011 11:43 am

Anybody know of a barcode generator which can make QR codes?
(Not Zint, its bugged)

Ruby
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Barcode generator?

#2 Post by Ruby » Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:57 am

If you don't mind Web-based here's a couple to try:

http://qrdroid.com/generate

http://zxing.appspot.com/generator/

Kermode
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:59 am

Re: Barcode generator?

#3 Post by Kermode » Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:16 pm

I do :)

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 9788
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: Barcode generator?

#4 Post by webfork » Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:18 am

Ruby wrote:If you don't mind Web-based here's a couple to try:

http://qrdroid.com/generate

http://zxing.appspot.com/generator/
Sweet, thanks. I think that zxing could be adapted to a portable version, but both are good programs.

Kermode
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:59 am

Re: Barcode generator?

#5 Post by Kermode » Wed Jun 15, 2011 11:58 am

Its interesting the Zing website encodes a test text correctly, but their Android app doesn't.

donald
Posts: 562
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:14 am
Location: knoxville TN USA

Re: Barcode generator?

#6 Post by donald » Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:00 am

Could you elaborate on the current bugged status of Zint?

Updated to remove quotes.**************************************
Last edited by donald on Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kermode
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:59 am

Re: Barcode generator?

#7 Post by Kermode » Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:46 pm

donald wrote:Could you elaborate on the current "bugged" status of Zint?
Not when you ask in quotes.

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Barcode generator?

#8 Post by guinness » Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:50 pm

Not when you ask in quotes.
Could you elaborate a little further please?
Added 179 Applications: Portable

Kermode
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:59 am

Re: Barcode generator?

#9 Post by Kermode » Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:33 am

guinness wrote:
Not when you ask in quotes.
Could you elaborate a little further please?
If you select the QR Code generator and enter

Code: Select all

båd kæde
that encodes correctly.

If you enter

Code: Select all

båd kæde båd
That does not encode correctly, you get Chinese letters instead.

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 9788
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: Barcode generator?

#10 Post by webfork » Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:07 am

So some issues with international characters, possibly unicode?
Kermode wrote:If you select the QR Code generator and enter

Code: Select all

båd kæde
that encodes correctly.

If you enter

Code: Select all

båd kæde båd
That does not encode correctly, you get Chinese letters instead.

taotra
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Barcode generator?

#11 Post by taotra » Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:18 pm

Here is a freeware barcode generator:

Bytescout BarCode Generator is able to generate and export barcode into image (PNG, JPG, TIFF, GIF).
Supports 1D barcode types: Codabar, Code 39, Interleaved 2 of 5, Code 93, Code 128, EAN-13, EAN-8, JAN-13, Bookland, UPC-A, UPC-E, Postnet,
Supports 2D barcode types: PDF417, Truncated PDF417, DataMatrix, QR Code

At the bottom of that page it has a zipped version for download, but it looks like it's just the zipped setup file.

http://bytescout.com/products/enduser/m ... rator.html

NickR
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:37 am

Re: Bytescout BarCode Generator

#12 Post by NickR » Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:28 pm

Bytescout BarCode Generator requires .NET

Looked good though

It says:
3. SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
MS Windows 95/NT/98/Me/2000/XP/Vista/7/x64
Microsoft NET 2.00 or higher installed

donald
Posts: 562
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:14 am
Location: knoxville TN USA

Re: Zint and bugs

#13 Post by donald » Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:49 pm

I did not know if you meant bugged as in phones home, or some other likely obscure reference.

Buggy, Alpha, not yet ready, broken, early alpha, needs work, needs fixing, or just about anything like that would have made sense, but bugged?

Unless you are from the UK or some location speaking a similar dialect of English and meant some abbreviation for something potentially vulgar like
the American F :shock: :oops: :wink: :lol: D I just do not get it.

Kermode
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:59 am

Re: Zint and bugs

#14 Post by Kermode » Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:10 am

donald wrote:I did not know if you meant bugged as in phones home, or some other likely obscure reference.
Yea, because the aliens have installed listening routines in the barcode generating software.
donald wrote: Buggy, Alpha, not yet ready, broken, early alpha, needs work, needs fixing, or just about anything like that would have made sense, but bugged?
The software has a bug.
The software is bugged. (ie the software is plagued by a bug)

No?

Post Reply