Search bug: entries not appearing in results

All suggestions about TPFC should be posted here. Discussions about changes to TPFC will also be carried out here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Specular
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:54 pm

Search bug: entries not appearing in results

#1 Post by Specular »

Here's a strange one. I've noticed when using a custom keyword search from Firefox that TPFC searches sometimes result in no results – even for entries that do exist. This has often made me think some apps aren't in the DB only to discover later they are, or by seeing their forum thread.

Paste this URL into your browser or click this link to reproduce:

Code: Select all

http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?q=aegisub&so=r&s=5&rt=n&m=Search
Whereas this alternate link without the additional parameters is not affected. However my keyword doesn't include the additional parameters in the code/link above:

Code: Select all

http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?q=%s
So it seems sometimes the site uses it other times not.
Last edited by Specular on Sun Jan 04, 2015 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6725
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: Search bug: entries not appearing in results

#2 Post by Midas »

Weird. Indeed it seems that with additional parameters (this part of the search URL: &so=r&s=5&rt=n&m=Search) the database doesn't get searched... Beats me. :?

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 2043
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Search bug: entries not appearing in results

#3 Post by SYSTEM »

The cause is the rt=n parameter. It limits the results to new entries (i.e. programs that haven't been updated). If you change it to rt=r or change the Results type to New + Updates in the search field, Aegisub will appear.
Specular wrote:However my keyword doesn't include the additional parameters in the code/link above:

Code: Select all

http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?q=%s
So it seems sometimes the site uses it other times not.
Strange.
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

Specular
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:54 pm

Re: Search bug: entries not appearing in results

#4 Post by Specular »

Okay, I can reproduce it now and this is the outline of how it happens.

1. Click this link. This is the URL my keyword produces, but as nothing matches the query there are no results.

2. While on that same page rename the query in the center search box (not the top right) to 'aegisub'.

3. Watch as the URL adds the additional parameters that prevent the database entry from being seen:

Code: Select all

http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?q=aegisub&so=r&s=5&rt=n&m=Search
Notice that if you navigate back to the initial result and search from the top-right field it doesn't add these parameters (only &m= whatever that does).

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 2043
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Search bug: entries not appearing in results

#5 Post by SYSTEM »

Specular wrote:Okay, I can reproduce it now and this is the outline of how it happens.

1. Click this link. This is the URL my keyword produces, but as nothing matches the query there are no results.

2. While on that same page rename the query in the center search box (not the top right) to 'aegisub'.

3. Watch as the URL adds the additional parameters that prevent the database entry from being seen:

Code: Select all

http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?q=aegisub&so=r&s=5&rt=n&m=Search
Notice that if you navigate back to the initial result and search from the top-right field it doesn't add these parameters (only &m= whatever that does).
Ah, I see. Apparently the center search box defaults to "New only" when it appears.
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 3063
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Search bug: entries not appearing in results

#6 Post by Andrew Lee »

Ah, I see. Apparently the center search box defaults to "New only" when it appears.
This is definitely a bug. I will fix it as soon as possible. Thanks for bringing it up!

EDIT: Now fixed

Post Reply