yaP - yet another Portablizer

If you are currently developing portable freeware or planning to do so, use this forum to discuss technical implementation, seek out like-minded developers for partnership, or solicit interested users for beta testing.
Message
Author
User avatar
rbon
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 2:16 am
Location: Italy

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#346 Post by rbon »

:D Thanks :)
"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to build bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." - Rick Cook.

User avatar
rbon
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 2:16 am
Location: Italy

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#347 Post by rbon »

Dear tproli,
here is a launcher for 'MediaHuman Audio Converter', an excellent tool that I use for split big flac files (an entire album) into single tracks with flac format (also other formats).
- web program page: http://www.mediahuman.com/audio-converter/
- direct download installer: http://www.mediahuman.com/download/MHAudioConverter.exe

How to obtain 'Audio Converter Portable':
1. Create a folder named 'Audio Converter Portable' and two sub-folders '\App' and '\Settings'
2. unzip yaP into the folder 'Audio Converter Portable'
3. rename yaP.exe to AudioConverterPortable.exe and yaP.ini to AudioConverterPortable.ini
4. download MHAudioConverter.exe and install it
5. run program, open some menus and exit
6. copy all files and subfolders from installation folder (C:\Programs (x86)\MediaHuman\Audio Converter)
except unins000.exe, unins000.dat and unins000.msg into '\App'
7. copy from 'C:\Users\Default User\AppData\Local\MediaHuman\Audio Converter\' the file 'custom.pf' inside '\Settings'
8. uninstall MHAudioConverter and manually delete '\Default User\AppData\Local\MediaHuman\Audio Converter\' and its content
9. copy content of 'Code' at the bottom into 'AudioConverterPortable.ini'
10. run AudioConverterPortable.exe

Code: Select all

; configuration file for yaP v0.6.5 Beta 293 (http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/)
; application name: Audio Converter Portable
; application type: 32-64 bit (for Windows XP, 7, 8, 8.1)
; version: 1.9.4
; website: http://www.mediahuman.com/it/audio-converter/
; suggested by: rbon

[GENERAL]
application = App\MHAudioConverter.exe

[BEFORE]
dir = %LocalAppData%\MediaHuman\Audio Converter :: Settings\custom.pf
regkey = HKCU\Software\MediaHuman :: Settings\AudioConverter.reg
regkey = HKCU\Software\Trolltech :: Settings\AudioConverter.reg
regkey = HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\AuthRoot\Certificates :: Settings\AudioConverter.reg

[AFTER]
-dir = %LocalAppData%\MediaHuman :: if empty
-regkey = HKCU\Software\MediaHuman :: Settings\AudioConverter.reg
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Trolltech :: Settings\AudioConverter.reg
-regkey = HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\AuthRoot\Certificates :: Settings\AudioConverter.reg
btw
the big Flac file and the Cue file MUST have the same name (otherwise program do not splits the big flac file).
"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to build bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." - Rick Cook.

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#348 Post by tproli »

Thanks, I'll check it. Are you sure all "Settings\AudioConverter.reg" chunks are in place? It seems a copy-paste error at first glance.

User avatar
rbon
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 2:16 am
Location: Italy

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#349 Post by rbon »

tproli wrote:Thanks, I'll check it. Are you sure all "Settings\AudioConverter.reg" chunks are in place? It seems a copy-paste error at first glance.
Yes, You have right :oops:

Code: Select all

[AFTER]
-dir = %LocalAppData%\MediaHuman :: if empty
-regkey = HKCU\Software\MediaHuman 
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Trolltech 
-regkey = HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\AuthRoot\Certificates
Now I think is exact.
Thanks
"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to build bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." - Rick Cook.

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#350 Post by tproli »

And the three in the BEFORE part? They seem to overwrite each other :)

User avatar
rbon
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 2:16 am
Location: Italy

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#351 Post by rbon »

tproli wrote:And the three in the BEFORE part? They seem to overwrite each other :)
Here is the BEFORE part rewrited:

Code: Select all

[BEFORE]
dir = %LocalAppData%\MediaHuman\Audio Converter :: Settings\custom.pf
regkey = HKCU\Software\MediaHuman :: Settings\AudioConverter.reg
+regkey = HKCU\Software\Trolltech :: Settings\AudioConverter.reg
+regkey = HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\AuthRoot\Certificates :: Settings\AudioConverter.reg
The keyword 'regkey' is only for first key, but if I add other regkeys I must use the keyword '+regkey'...right?
"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to build bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." - Rick Cook.

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#352 Post by tproli »

No. "regkey" makes a backup of the local registry key (if exists), then restores portable .reg file (from previous run, if any), and on AFTER run exports key to .reg file and finally, restores local backup.

"+regkey" adds a new registry key.

Use "(regkey)" (BEFORE only) to backup a regkey but don't export-import anything. It makes a local backup of the key (BEFORE run), and removes the reg key the portable might make, and finally restores the local backup.
So the portable app may write to this key but it will finally removed anyways. I guess that's what you're after.

User avatar
rbon
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 2:16 am
Location: Italy

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#353 Post by rbon »

Honestly I had doubts, but with the changes that You have suggested the launcher start much faster and with new check of the registry seems to be clean.
Here is the yaP launcher updated:

Code: Select all

; configuration file for yaP v0.6.5 Beta 293 (http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/)
; application name: Audio Converter Portable
; application type: Windows All (XP--8.1)
; version: 1.9.4
; website: http://www.mediahuman.com/audio-converter/
; suggested by: rbon

[GENERAL]
application = App\MHAudioConverter.exe

[BEFORE]
dir = %LocalAppData%\MediaHuman\Audio Converter :: Settings\custom.pf
(regkey) = HKCU\Software\MediaHuman 
(regkey) = HKCU\Software\Trolltech 
(regkey) = HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\AuthRoot\Certificates 

[AFTER]
-dir = %LocalAppData%\MediaHuman :: if empty
Good job
Thanks
"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to build bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." - Rick Cook.

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#354 Post by tproli »

Still not perfect, but much closer :)

The first (regkey) should be "regkey" only, because that's where the app stores its settings. The launcher should take care of that, that's why it is saved to the Settings subfolder (settings.reg).

"dir" copies contents of a dir to another dir, so the second segment should be a directory, not a file.

The application starts its homepage on first run, so I added a "+regvalue" to avoid this.

I could simply uniextract the installer (choosing the last option, "not an installshield installer").

Thanks for the submission, here is the final config:
http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/#examples/Medi ... verter.ini

User avatar
rbon
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 2:16 am
Location: Italy

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#355 Post by rbon »

:D Thanks :)
"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to build bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." - Rick Cook.

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6705
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#356 Post by Midas »

Another bug?

Having tested with yaP's latest Beta (currently v0.6.5.293B), it appears the "quit" keyword is currently non-functional: it doesn't seem to be able to immediately terminate yaP -- either placed before/after the "application" keyword in the "GENERAL" section, or else in the "AFTER" section...

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#357 Post by tproli »

"quit" is to be put in the BEFORE or AFTER sections. Here it seems no sign of malfunctioning.

This config will show "Starting..." only (on Win7).

Code: Select all

[GENERAL]
application=%windir%\Notepad.exe

[BEFORE]
message = Starting...
quit = 1

[AFTER]
message = Ending...
And here, the "Ending No 2..." is never shown:

Code: Select all

[GENERAL]
application=%windir%\Notepad.exe

[BEFORE]
message = Starting...
;quit = 1
;message = Starting No 2...

[AFTER]
message = Ending...
quit = 1
message = Ending No 2...

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6705
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#358 Post by Midas »

I see. :|

Then, is there a way for yaP to launch a program and immediately quit afterwards?

If I place the "quit" keyword in the "BEFORE" section (the only permutation I hadn't tried), the main application is not even launched...

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#359 Post by tproli »

Yes, it is for testing purposes as I remember :)

How about this?
http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/#keyword_nowait

Update: this was removed, so you have to use "nowait":
I'm not sure about this, but if there's no "complex" items in the BEFORE section AND there are no AFTER items, yaP will automatically quit.

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6705
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#360 Post by Midas »

tproli wrote:How about this?
http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/#keyword_nowait
  • Duh, it works. It could have bitten me in the face, as we say here, but I missed it... :oops:

    BTW, there's something wrong with yaP's webpage anchors, they all scroll a few lines past their destination -- at least in Firefox.

Post Reply