OneWay Backup

If you are currently developing portable freeware or planning to do so, use this forum to discuss technical implementation, seek out like-minded developers for partnership, or solicit interested users for beta testing.
ozok

OneWay Backup

#1 Post by ozok »

OneWay Backup is a folder sync program. I've been developing it for a few months now. We use it in my work place to create folder mirrors in local network and it seems to work well. Since the configuration of the PCs it's tested/used on are similar I thought perhaps I can get different feedbacks from the community. I must admit that I tried to copy some ideas from existing projects (Bvckup etc).

It writes settings and logs to its own folder but there will also be an installer version.

Features:
  • -Scans for altered files and copies them only
    -Jobs can be run in batches
    -Can be called from console so scheduling a backup is very easy
    -Can create mirrors (i.e. delete files/folders from folder B so it is identical to folder A)
    -Can send emails when backup is done
See https://github.com/ozok/OneWay-Backup/releases for beta releases.
Also see https://github.com/ozok/OneWay-Backup for commandline parameters which makes it very easy to schedule backup tasks.

Needless to say I am open to suggestions etc.

smaragdus

Re: OneWay Backup

#2 Post by smaragdus »

@ozok

I did some superficial testing. At first look I would suggest some changes/features:
- an option to delete projects- this doesn't seem to be possible right now- perhaps 'Delete' button next to 'Add New'.
- preview mode- when executed it shows what will be updated/deleted.
- an option for the files which will be deleted to go to Recycle Bin.
- an option to switch source/destination folders in 'Edit Selected'