House of fail (we got scraped)

Any other tech-related topics
Message
Author
User avatar
Midas
Posts: 5644
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: House of fail (we got scraped)

#46 Post by Midas » Sun Feb 14, 2016 1:32 pm

webfork wrote:I can't get in to test. PM me.
  • I will. Meanwhile, did you see this? "If you have an @safetymail.info email address, you can create an account." That email domain is just a redirector to Mailinator...

    As for the other options, I don't really have much use for IM. I went to Slack because setup was instantaneous and straightforward, it offers mobile options, and frankly because of all the hype. It looked perfect for an emergency.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: House of fail (we got scraped)

#47 Post by joby_toss » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:27 am

I just used MirandaNG to create my Tox ID:
BAE29BCB57CCF1806854D79818A296259DEFE1AA5D0BE2A798B05D2C2AE4B76DD3E0AAE854DA
Hope it works, if someone is willing to add me. :)

Specular
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:54 pm

Re: House of fail (we got scraped)

#48 Post by Specular » Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:39 am

joby_toss wrote:Yes, the #portablefreeware IRC channel is still live on freenode, but I lost all rights to it, not sure why...
You should contact the staff on the #freenode channel. Aside from that though anyone can still join the channel. It's the nice thing about IRC.

freenode isn't likely to disappear, either. Can't say I expect the new alternatives like Slack will be around in 10 years.

User avatar
tactictoe
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:56 am
Location: A galaxy far far downunder
Contact:

Re: House of fail (we got scraped)

#49 Post by tactictoe » Mon Feb 15, 2016 4:35 am

Just a stupid question: do we all user need to change our password?
I just did change mine, just in case.

User avatar
tactictoe
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:56 am
Location: A galaxy far far downunder
Contact:

Re: House of fail (we got scraped)

#50 Post by tactictoe » Mon Feb 15, 2016 4:56 am

Last check to the clone:
403.png
403.png (3.65 KiB) Viewed 8536 times
Droids won... the clone war is over. :lol:
I am so happy for you guys this problem is solved.

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 1961
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: House of fail (we got scraped)

#51 Post by SYSTEM » Mon Feb 15, 2016 5:39 am

tactictoe wrote:Just a stupid question: do we all user need to change our password?
I just did change mine, just in case.
No, we don't need to change our passwords. They never had access to our forum database. :)
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

User avatar
tactictoe
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:56 am
Location: A galaxy far far downunder
Contact:

Re: House of fail (we got scraped)

#52 Post by tactictoe » Mon Feb 15, 2016 6:31 am

No, we don't need to change our passwords. They never had access to our forum database. :)
Thanks, it's a relief.

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: House of fail (we got scraped)

#53 Post by Andrew Lee » Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:29 pm

SYSTEM wrote:
tactictoe wrote:Just a stupid question: do we all user need to change our password?
I just did change mine, just in case.
No, we don't need to change our passwords. They never had access to our forum database. :)
I confirm that.

User avatar
smaragdus
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Aeaea

Re: House of fail (we got scraped)

#54 Post by smaragdus » Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:57 pm

I visited The Portable Freeware IRC channel at freenode but there wasn't a living soul there.

I will also publish my Tox ID:
C993DF91A00DF065186E04711316F27AFF106830EDB9765C61DC3EF6DA1D5F4F3D84EE36BE16

If you don't know you can register your Tox ID at the public list- Tox ID Service, it serves as user lookup, just hit sign up.

If you are using qTox or Isotoxin, back-up your profile (name.tox for qTox and name.profile for Isotoxin), if lost it is unrecoverable. Isotoxin allows to export your profile- right-click on your Tox ID and choose Export, thus it can be used with qTox, screen-shot below.
Isotoxin 0.3.419 - 2016-02-20 - export - 001.png

Post Reply