HOSTS file question

Any other tech-related topics
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

HOSTS file question

#1 Post by guinness » Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:54 am

I am wondering does the system regard http://www.somesite.com the same as somesite.com? If this is the case then I can drastically reduce my HOSTS file.
Added 179 Applications: Portable

romulous
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: HOSTS file

#2 Post by romulous » Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:48 pm

In a simple word, no. You need two separate entries for those.

Ruby
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: HOSTS file

#3 Post by Ruby » Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:01 am

guinness wrote:I am wondering does the system regard http://www.somesite.com the same as somesite.com? If this is the case then I can drastically reduce my HOSTS file.
Open Hosts file, add somesite.com, save Hosts file.
Open browser and visit [www.]somesite.com
Rinse & repeat with www added to somesite.com in Hosts file.

~Ruby

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: HOSTS file

#4 Post by guinness » Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:45 am

romulous wrote:In a simple word, no. You need two separate entries for those.
Thanks.
Added 179 Applications: Portable

abacusFanboi
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:56 pm

Re: HOSTS file

#5 Post by abacusFanboi » Tue Feb 04, 2014 2:02 pm

I think I have noticed with Proxomitron that if Proxomitron doesn't block the url, but hosts blocks the url, that the browser retries 10 times.
so put the url into adblock or some other blocker might prevent the browser retries, and think of hosts as backup blocker.
but maybe the retries don't matter much.

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: HOSTS file

#6 Post by guinness » Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:40 pm

Proxomitron is old!
Added 179 Applications: Portable

Toxteth O'Grady
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:06 am

Re: HOSTS file

#7 Post by Toxteth O'Grady » Sun Feb 09, 2014 1:34 am

I have stopped using the traditional hosts file, because
1. a large file slows down browsing (at least on my not exactly state of the art system)
2. too many items will be missed, no matter how many entries you add. 10, 20, 30, ... doubleclick items still leaves gazillions of sites uncovered.

I have switched to a local DNS proxy: http://mayakron.altervista.org/support/ ... th=Acrylic
It also uses a hosts file, but this accepts wild-cards. So, for example, *doubleclick* or *.doubleclick.* will block them all, on every site. Based on the log file, I have added about 900 entries to the hosts file. For me it's an effective system and yet lighter than the regular hosts file.

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: HOSTS file

#8 Post by guinness » Sun Feb 09, 2014 2:02 am

I haven't seen any lag on my system, though I only visit a handful of sites and my connection isn't that slow! I will check out Acrylic, though would rather avoid having a process running in the background just for the sake of a couple of ms here or there.

It should be noted that the link is a little broken.
Added 179 Applications: Portable


User avatar
Midas
Posts: 5899
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: Acrylic DNS Proxy

#10 Post by Midas » Mon Feb 10, 2014 6:23 am

Current Acrylic version is v0.9.24, released on January 3, 2014.
Changelog:
[*] It is now possible to disable the address cache altogether making Acrylic work as a forwarding-only DNS proxy.
[*] It is now possible to specify query type affinity masks for DNS servers (defining which server is going to resolve requests for particular query types).
P.S.: More HOSTS related info also at http://www.portablefreeware.com/forums/ ... hp?t=16794 (for other mayakron programs, see http://www.portablefreeware.com/forums/ ... 589#p68589).[/list]

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4148
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Acrylic DNS Proxy Monitor

#11 Post by I am Baas » Sat Jul 05, 2014 9:55 pm

Acrylic DNS Proxy Monitor is a frontend monitor for Acrylic DNS Proxy, a free personal DNS proxy server.

C# version. Requires .Net framework v2.0.

http://dev.arqendra.net/index1.php?cat=12#adpm

Image


(Not tested)
Bəəs 2.0

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 5899
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: Acrylic DNS Proxy Monitor

#12 Post by Midas » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:08 am

I am Baas wrote:Acrylic DNS Proxy Monitor is a frontend monitor for Acrylic DNS Proxy, a free personal DNS proxy server.
  • Ever tested Acrylic, Baas? Methinks it really deserves an entry at TPFC forums... 8)

    @webfork: just asking, but how about renaming the current topic to be Acrylic official one?

bzl333
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:11 pm

Re: HOSTS file

#13 Post by bzl333 » Sat Dec 13, 2014 9:30 am

i used it awhile ago. the author of the ADP monitor program was kind of a jerk when i suggested some improvements.
Toxteth O'Grady wrote:I have stopped using the traditional hosts file, because
1. a large file slows down browsing (at least on my not exactly state of the art system)
2. too many items will be missed, no matter how many entries you add. 10, 20, 30, ... doubleclick items still leaves gazillions of sites uncovered.

I have switched to a local DNS proxy: http://mayakron.altervista.org/support/ ... th=Acrylic
It also uses a hosts file, but this accepts wild-cards. So, for example, *doubleclick* or *.doubleclick.* will block them all, on every site. Based on the log file, I have added about 900 entries to the hosts file. For me it's an effective system and yet lighter than the regular hosts file.
i use HostsMan and HostsServer currently with ~70,000 entries from various sources and no slowdown on my 5 yr old netbook. only Hosts file i don't use is from hpHosts because its just massive but i use all the others im aware of. ADP + monitor would be a better option if they continued to improve it and the program also allows you to hit DNS servers thru non-standard port like 5353 iirc so that you can bypass some ISP's that are hijacking your DNS requests. only thing is i dont know of any precompiled lists in the wildcard format. the ADP Monitor needs to be improved though, last i checked.

Post Reply