Utility to set default browser in Windows7

Any other tech-related topics
Message
Author
ZioZione
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#16 Post by ZioZione » Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:15 pm

Hi joby_toss,
my work PC has Win764bit, so tomorrow I will try myself what I explain below.
If you, or other people, want to give another try with the menu, I have a custom copy for this test. Is the same menu you can download from winPenPack site, configured in such a way that Opera, during menu execution, is the predefined browser.
Unfortunately, I cannot attach files, so who is interested can contact me through PM (or point me to a better way for share it).
Best Regards
ZioZione

ZioZione
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#17 Post by ZioZione » Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:26 pm

Hi to all,
if someone is still interested, can download the complete pack from here.
Best Regards
ZioZione

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 1986
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#18 Post by SYSTEM » Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:50 am

ZioZione wrote:Hi to all,
if someone is still interested, can download the complete pack from here.
Best Regards
ZioZione
I tested it on my 64-bit Windows 7 SP1.

It worked as expected.

So, likely Joby's setup is at fault here.
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 13th playlist: August 24, 2020

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#19 Post by joby_toss » Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:11 am

Thanks for checking that!
In the meantime I kinda' found out why it is happening: my portable softwares are all in a folder in my D drive. Well, this folder was not created in win7. It was created in my old XP. After I installed win7 in my C drive, this folder's security permissions, ownership etc. were all messed up. I thought I fixed all the issues, but apparently not. :(
If I move my Opera folder in the root of the drive (D:\Opera), it works fine.
Bummer...

Hydaral
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:36 pm

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#20 Post by Hydaral » Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:28 pm

I use a batch file that uses reg.exe commands to add them to HKCU.

Vista and up also has the following reg key that will override everything else. I'm not too sure what it does because associations seem to work fine without it:

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#21 Post by joby_toss » Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:08 pm

OK. Checked. Thanks!
How about "protocols"? Where do I find those?

Ruby
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#22 Post by Ruby » Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:04 pm

joby_toss wrote:OK. Checked. Thanks!
How about "protocols"? Where do I find those?
Awhile back I saved/exported a Chromium installation; actually run from a zip with the [ --user-data-dir=.\ ] parameter and 'Make Default Browser' in settings (I think Chromium may also have switch/parameter for this too, eg: --make-default-browser).

The reason for saving/exporting was that the 'portable' parameter (user data dir) was not added to the registry when making default, so any calls from the OS would create a 'profile' folder in %AppData%

I then manually added the [ --user-data-dir ] parameter to all instances of the 'open' command for chrome.exe in the .reg file and this is what I use to merge the 'portable' parameter into the registry.

What you can do is run Regshot first (in case the following fails), and then run/use NirSoft's RegFromApp (maybe as Admin) to open/run your Web Browser and make it default and then close it.

RegFromApp should capture the reg entries and you can then save, if it fails, you still have Regshot's output.

What's nice about RegFromApp is you only get the output from what the Browser added to the registry.

Here's a pastebin of my .reg file:
http://pastebin.com/DP0FL68G

HTH,

Ruby

Hydaral
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:36 pm

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#23 Post by Hydaral » Wed Mar 21, 2012 9:36 pm

joby_toss wrote:OK. Checked. Thanks!
How about "protocols"? Where do I find those?
Protocols are associated just like file extensions: in the "Classes" key (http and https), the only difference is they have a "URL Protocol" key to tell the system that it is for URLs.

When the system looks for associations in the registry, it gets the ones in HKLM, then overwrites duplicate keys with any values in HKCU. Since all systems have the URL protocols already set up, all you need to do is change the DefaultIcon and shell/open/command values in HKCU.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#24 Post by joby_toss » Wed Mar 21, 2012 10:34 pm

This issue was bugging me so much that it wasn't even funny! :(

The files associations (htm, html etc.) was fixed, but the protocols were still not associated with my portable Opera, despite my numerous attempts (WPPmenu offers the solution if you keep it running).
It only worked after I changed these registry keys:

Image

I hope you can imagine my satisfaction when I see these images in front of me: :)

Image

Image

Thank you all! Big stone was lifted of my chest with your help! :wink:

ZioZione
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#25 Post by ZioZione » Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:44 am

Hi joby_toss,
sorry for late reply, I haven't fully understand that you needed also a more "static" solution (i.e. without any other program running...).
Next time you can try to execute wPPMenu (obviously, properly configured), take a shot with RegShot, close wPPMenu and take a second shot with Regshot, looking at the shots differences ;) .
I think that is a little simpler than examining manually the registry... 8)
Best Regards
ZioZione

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#26 Post by joby_toss » Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:26 am

Another good point! Thanks!

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 9979
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#27 Post by webfork » Fri Mar 23, 2012 11:55 am

Pointing to a related thread where guiness submitted ChangeDefaultBrowser (http://changedefaultbrowser.com/).

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#28 Post by guinness » Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:47 pm

Thanks webfork, I should have created a backlink too.

Hydaral
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:36 pm

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#29 Post by Hydaral » Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:12 am

joby_toss wrote:This issue was bugging me so much that it wasn't even funny! :(

The files associations (htm, html etc.) was fixed, but the protocols were still not associated with my portable Opera, despite my numerous attempts (WPPmenu offers the solution if you keep it running).
It only worked after I changed these registry keys:

Image
Hmm, I am using Win7 too, but I don't have the Shell\Associations key. I wonder if something else added it to your machine.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Utility to set default browser in Windows7

#30 Post by joby_toss » Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:48 am

It's very possible...

Post Reply