HotkeyP

Post details of freeware that are found to be not portable here. Posts in the submissions forum relating to freeware found to be not portable should also be moved here.
Message
Author
dot
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:59 am

HotkeyP

#1 Post by dot » Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:46 pm

http://www.snapfiles.com/get/hotkeyp.html

Today's snapfiles RSS feed listed this very nice and smart program: HotkeyP

"HotkeyP is a small but powerful macro and hotkey utility that enables you to create a wide range of macro commands and keyboard shortcuts that can perform common tasks such as opening files, running programs, empty the recycle bin, reboot your PC, start the screensaver and much more......"

"HotkeyP does not look like much, but it has a ton of features under the gray hood. Standalone program, no installation. "


To avoid a registry entry you have to unclick the option in its settings for autostart. Forgot to check with RegShot, so have to trust snapfiles. When you click the option for remote control (mouse/remote tab) it will create an extra directory.

Have to say, in my view, such a little program (148KB) using about 10 MBs in resources is a bit much, but I might get addicted to it, nevertheless.

Correction:

After I let it autostart, it now only uses about 6.5 MB resources.

For me this program turns out to be a keeper. I can call up all my favourite folders quickly with hotkeys now. As it uses many system tasks ready for use with hotkeys it's probably even useful on foreign computers.

Edit:

Gotta add: after I let HotkeyP autostart, Windows takes quite a bit longer to start. Above all, my firewall (ZoneAlarm) now takes about a minute longer to load and is now the program that gets loaded last, whereas before it was one of the first to load. Maybe it's just a weird coincidence. Am really hooked on that program already.

dot
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:59 am

#2 Post by dot » Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:03 pm

DARN!!! This program is obviously NOT portable and snapfiles was wrong! All shortcuts that you create seem to be stored within the registry. After I had to do an image restore of my system partition because of some problem, all my shortcuts were gone! That means, when you use the program on another computer, you won't have your shortcuts any more. Otherwise, this would be a really cute program with lots of useful commands ready for use with any shortcut. <sniff>

dot
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:59 am

#3 Post by dot » Mon Oct 16, 2006 4:32 am

Oh well, that program IS portable. Just found, accidentally, that it had created a file, (.htk) with the hotkey settings in "My Documents". You can place, of course, that file anywhere (for instance in HotKeyP's own directory) and load it in HotKeyP. So, I got all my former hotkeys back. Seems, through my image restore of the system partition the program lost the path to the file. Now, I just can't tell where it stores the path to that file. I'd say, in the registry, but I can't find anything.

(BTW, the late loading of ZA I observed at startup has to do with my new modem and not HotkeyP)

dilentec
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 3:38 pm

Re: HotkeyP

#4 Post by dilentec » Wed May 12, 2010 3:44 pm

I've been using this 1Mb Miniutil for years and to make it portable I had to use Vmware's ThinApp but got a little problem: after a year of using the ThinApp remake of HotkeyP's folder is now 284Mb long. So I hope there is now a better way to make it portable since its far the best ad more versatil hotkeys application and I'v tried really a lot of them.

If anyone gets to a solution please post. Greetings.

freakazoid
Posts: 938
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: HotkeyP

#5 Post by freakazoid » Wed May 12, 2010 8:07 pm

Cool... never heard of it! Sounds a lot like Hoekey, which is portable:
http://www.bcheck.net/apps/hoe.htm

Try that out!
is it stealth? ;)

Onesimus Prime
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:42 pm

Re: HotkeyP

#6 Post by Onesimus Prime » Wed May 12, 2010 9:36 pm

Wow, that might even be useful over here! But, to ask the all-important (and even somewhat serious) question...
is it stealth? :wink:

freakazoid
Posts: 938
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: HotkeyP

#7 Post by freakazoid » Fri May 14, 2010 9:13 pm

I believe it is... I've never really checked though.
is it stealth? ;)

User avatar
Napiophelios
Posts: 586
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:48 pm

Re: HotkeyP

#8 Post by Napiophelios » Sat May 15, 2010 3:56 pm

dilentec wrote:If anyone gets to a solution please post. Greetings.


Here's an NSIS Launcher to try.

Just download the zip package and extract into the "HotkeyP" folder next to the launcher.
If you already have a script rename it to "HotkeyP_USB.htk"
and place with the programfiles.

I didnt mess around with the spy.exe...so use at your own risk.

..and I doubt you can use the "start with windows" option
without manually adding a shortcut to the start up folder.

JauntePE might work pretty well with this too.
Last edited by Napiophelios on Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2242
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

HotkeyP

#9 Post by Andrew Lee » Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:01 pm

Application name: HotkeyP

Website: http://www.snapfiles.com/get/hotkeyp.html

Date tested: 2006-10-08

Status: Not portable

Reason: Writes settings to registry.

dilentec
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 3:38 pm

Re: HotkeyP

#10 Post by dilentec » Fri Dec 23, 2011 12:51 pm

Here's an NSIS Launcher to try.

Just download the zip package and extract into the "HotkeyP" folder next to the launcher.
If you already have a script rename it to "HotkeyP_USB.htk"
Thanks Napiophelios for the Launcher. It worked great.
The problem I had was the HotKeyp_USB.htk file being left over at C: when shuting down windows without closing HotKeyP, and then wiped out by DeepFreeze (wich all my computers use).
I'm no programmer, but to avoid this I made this primitive launcher in the form of a rudimentary batch file:

Code: Select all

@Echo Off
taskkill /i /m HotkeyP.exe
xcopy HotkeyP_USB.htk HotKeyP /K /R /Y
start HotKeyPUSB.exe
exit
Note: For a fancier solution, you can use Batch to Exe Converter (http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?id=1660) on the Bat File and Include both HotkeyP_USB.htk and HotKeyPUSB.exe files. You can set it to erase temporary files, add a custom icon, etc.

Comments are welcome, and if I can help anyone implementing this great App more or less portably, feel free to textme through this forum. Of course if Napiophelios adds support for my kind of situation to his launcher, it will be most welcome too. Thaks again.

freakazoid
Posts: 938
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: HotkeyP

#11 Post by freakazoid » Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:34 pm

You guys might want to try TyperTask as well:
http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?id=1854
is it stealth? ;)

dilentec
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 3:38 pm

Re: HotkeyP

#12 Post by dilentec » Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:14 am

You guys might want to try TyperTask as well:
http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?id=1854
Even though TyperTask is not as easy of use as HotkeyP, it's portability and versatility makes it a true alternative. Thanks freakazoid for the suggestion; I'll tryit out as a natively portable replacement for HotkeyP.

freakazoid
Posts: 938
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: HotkeyP

#13 Post by freakazoid » Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:29 am

Hi dilentec,

You might also like Hoekey, which I mentioned above as well.

It's probably more similar to HotkeyP.
is it stealth? ;)

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 4638
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: HotkeyP

#14 Post by Midas » Fri Jul 13, 2012 3:08 am

Original post by Mr. Lee (as not portable): http://www.portablefreeware.com/forums/ ... =20&t=7259

Plenty of screenshots at Softpedia: http://www.softpedia.com/progScreenshot ... 52509.html

Recently updated to v4.6.1 (still no mention of portability, so should be moved to "Non Portable Freeware")...
WhatsNew.txt wrote:4.6.1 (2012-03-28)
- shortcuts to https web sites
- options window use true type font

fixed bugs:
- if command "Close Window" is executed on the desktop, then shutdown dialog box is shown
Image
Last edited by Midas on Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 8369
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: HotkeyP

#15 Post by webfork » Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:30 pm

> should be moved

All set.

Post Reply