Page 1 of 3

Opera Question?

Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 3:13 pm
by Ameri-CAIN
OK Opera Nuts! I have been playing around with Opera@USB. I like it, but for whatever reason, it wont recognize my SOCKS v5 Proxy. I run an SSH server at home that forwards out all my Internet requests from where ever I am through my home computer. I have KiTTy forward my requests by setting up a reverse SSH Tunnel. I then configure my Internet programs to use 127.0.0.1:8080 and presto, instant connect. However this proxy configuration doesn't work in Opera. In Firefox I have an option to choose SOCKS v5 Proxy. In Opera, I see no such option. Does anyone know if Opera is capable of using a SOCKS Proxy, and If so how would I go about configuring it to work.

Thanks!

Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 5:12 pm
by freakazoid
Tools > Preferences > Network > Proxy Servers

Try typing in your proxy info there and see what happens.

Remember to either refresh page or restart Opera.

Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 7:06 pm
by Ameri-CAIN
I did try Tools > Preferences > Network > Proxy Servers.

I type in my proxy info, enable it and then refresh the browser. I don't get any errors, the page just comes up blank. I also tried restarting the browser and still nada. I tried opening several pages with the proxy enabled, and nothing came up, not even Google. Its quite bizarre. I have run into this problem using this type of proxy for internet music programs like Winamp, and Screamer Radio, but not a browser. Then again, I have been a pretty loyal Firefox user for several years. I heard someone say Opera had more to offer in a portable fashion than Firefox, simply because most all good features are built in without the use of extensions. I have also heard claims that Opera runs faster in a portable fashion. But if I can't use my Proxy, (Secure SSH Reverse Tunnel) its pretty much a deal breaker.

Posted: Wed May 27, 2009 10:54 am
by freakazoid
Hey AmeriCAIN,

I did a quick search on Google for ya and found that there is indeed a problem.

A workaround is to use Privoxy for the SOCKS proxy and use Privoxy's HTTP proxy settings in Opera.
http://www.archivum.info/opera.general/ ... 00403.html

Hope that helps... you might want to try OperaTor, which has Tor and Privoxy combined with Opera:
http://portablefreeware.com/?id=980

Or use PortableTor (http://portablefreeware.com/?id=1088) in conjunction with Opera@USB.

I know that makes Opera quite inconvenient for your usage, but I am still an Opera advocate! You are right to say that a lot of features are built into Opera, which is why I use it for everyday surfing. For more advanced usage like web development, I use Firefox as a supplement.

Let us know what happens.

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:41 am
by joby_toss
Sorry for reviving such an old topic, but I also have an Opera related question.

I have a .txt file with about 100 urls (url/empty line/url/empy line, etc.).
Is there any way I can (quickly) open all these links, each in its own tab?

Note: I don't care if Opera can handle 100 opened tabs or not, this is not the question.

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:10 am
by guinness
It's possible I could write a quick script in AutoIt.

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:34 am
by joby_toss
That would be fantastic, thank you very much! (if by "could" you meant "would" :) )

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:38 am
by guinness
Yeh I meant that. Couple of questions.

1. Are you using Opera as Portable and is it your default browser? i.e. when you select a URL link (.url or .lnk) it opens in Opera Portable.
2. Do you have AutoIt or should I compile it?

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:54 am
by joby_toss
1. Yes, Opera is used as portable app, with profile settings in its own folder. With it being the default browser...it's kind of a longer answer (I actually use FBL as default browser), but you should consider the answer: Yes, it acts as the default browser.
2. I have AuoIt and I will try to compile it myself. If I can't do it, I will tell you.

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:29 am
by guinness
Try this >> Just select the text and let the script do the rest. I've had to put a Sleep of 1 second for Opera to open the tab (nothing I can do I'm afraid.)

And I know you know the consequences but I really don't know how Opera handles 100 tabs being opened in a 100 seconds.

Code: Select all

#include <File.au3>

Exit _Main()

Func _Main()
	Local $aArray, $sFilePath

	$sFilePath = FileOpenDialog("Open the URL log file.", @ScriptDir, "Text (*.txt)")
	If @error Then
		Return SetError(1, 0, 1001)
	EndIf

	_FileReadToArray($sFilePath, $aArray)
	If @error Then
		Return SetError(2, 0, 1002)
	EndIf
	For $A = 1 To $aArray[0]
		If StringStripWS($aArray[$A], 8) = "" Then
			ContinueLoop
		EndIf
		ConsoleWrite("Opened >> " & $aArray[$A] & @CRLF)
		ShellExecute('"' & $aArray[$A] & '"')
		Sleep(1000)
	Next
	Return 1000
EndFunc   ;==>_Main

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:04 pm
by joby_toss
I did something wrong:

Image

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:11 pm
by guinness
Honestly (don't get mad) but I think you did. Are you using my version of AutoIt Portable? I've sent you a PM with a compiled version as just extracting the SFX doesn't really work when using UDFs.

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:55 pm
by joby_toss
Hey, thank you very much! It does work!

Yes, I am using your portable version. I get this error while compiling and the previous one on execution:

Image

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:07 pm
by guinness
Does File.au3 exist in the Include folder? This can be found in the App folder. Also move the Script outside of Examples and maybe next to the App folder.

Re: Opera Question?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:08 pm
by joby_toss
Yes, File.au3 exists in the Include folder.

I moved the script in other places - same result.

I don't know what it is, but other scripts from the Examples folder are being compiled fine. It must be something wrong with my setup since you are able to compile OK the same script.