4 Gb is better than 8 GB

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
indyram

4 Gb is better than 8 GB

#1 Post by indyram »

As we like the convenience of running programs from

flash drives we want to have larger and larger

capacity drives so that we can run more

programs and carry larger amount of data.

Right now 16 GB FDs are available

for a reasonable price. Larger capacity ones maybe

good for transporting larger files and greater amount

of data. But they are not good for running programs.

I had 4 GB drive and now I have 8 GB drive

I find the programs from the larger capacity drive

run slower, especially the portable Firefox browser.

Perhaps 4 GB is the maximum size for running programs

I wonder what is the experience of others

Indy Ram

ashghost

#2 Post by ashghost »

Different flash drives offer different read/write speeds. I doubt that the reduced speed you're experiencing is purely due to the capacity of the drive.

I'm no expert, so anyone else is welcome to either back me up or prove me wrong. :) :wink:

donald

ashghost is right but

#3 Post by donald »

ashghost is right but

are you using a true 2.0 usb port?

larger flash drives require more power this means a hub with no external power and or a underpowered port can't run a large flash drive at full speed or sometimes at all (a problem on many computers in my experience) usually true full powered 2.0 ports are in short supply and are usually in the back on bargain pc's

my older flash drives which support 1.1 usb operate on less power and run faster on keyboard ports and usb power only hubs

a lot of better flash drives are much more expensive and you might want to look for articles on read write speeds before buying a expensive larger drive try http://www.everythingusb.com/ for articles

a few flash drives to watch include the atv turbo, ocz lightning, and the pocket rocket along with many more

another important possible problem is drivers