Portable Chrome

Submit portable freeware that you find here. It helps if you include information like description, extraction instruction, Unicode support, whether it writes to the registry, and so on.

Moderators: usdcs, Andrew Lee, webfork

Message
Author
USBman
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 11:25 am

Portable Chrome

#1 Post by USBman » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:28 am

[Moderator note: this is the primary Google Chrome browser thread. View database entry]

----

I happened upon this posting with a link to a portable version of Google's new browser, Chrome. The direct link to that is available in German and a translated version in English.

Unlike the version in this forum topic, this version claims to truly be portable. I have not yet fully tested it, but it might be worth trying out.

User avatar
SeanJohnShaffer
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Hawaii, USA
Contact:

#2 Post by SeanJohnShaffer » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:50 am

It is pointless to even want a portable version of this program because it is a beta version, has many bugs, missing many useful features, and there are alternative browsers that do a fantastic job compared to it. I'll take Portable Firefox any day, unless Google Chrome shows that it is a better browser and offers something that Firefox lacks. Guess I'll have to wait for the future beta/stable releases.

User avatar
m^(2)
Posts: 890
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:38 am
Location: Kce,PL
Contact:

#3 Post by m^(2) » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:55 am

It's said to have the thing that Firefox lacks the most already. Speed.
Image

User avatar
SeanJohnShaffer
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Hawaii, USA
Contact:

#4 Post by SeanJohnShaffer » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:01 am

My Firefox works pretty fast, even with all of the addons I added to it. I use a few addons to help make my Firefox faster, and it is also compresses using UPX, so that helps. One addons I use to speed up Firefox is BetterCache. Still waiting for a 3.x compliant version of Fasterfox.

User avatar
m^(2)
Posts: 890
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:38 am
Location: Kce,PL
Contact:

#5 Post by m^(2) » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:34 am

Ever tried it with 30+ tabs open? No good.
Image

User avatar
SeanJohnShaffer
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Hawaii, USA
Contact:

#6 Post by SeanJohnShaffer » Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:18 pm

I sure have, seems to work just as well. Plus, I run it from an external hard drive that appears to run programs from it faster than my thumb drive.

User avatar
m^(2)
Posts: 890
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:38 am
Location: Kce,PL
Contact:

#7 Post by m^(2) » Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:21 pm

SeanJohnShaffer wrote:I sure have, seems to work just as well. Plus, I run it from an external hard drive that appears to run programs from it faster than my thumb drive.
Strange. I run from a fast local HDD. On not so bad machine.
Image

User avatar
SeanJohnShaffer
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Hawaii, USA
Contact:

#8 Post by SeanJohnShaffer » Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:31 pm

The portable FF I have that I run on my external hard drive is 238MB in size. Huge, because I have many addons so that my browser is all my frequently-used apps in one.

User avatar
MiDoJo
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:36 pm

#9 Post by MiDoJo » Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:56 pm

not very portable really (creates files (a .bak in the folder above it) Application Folders (Chromium with bookmarks and more in the %apps% Dir) and reg entries including OPEN WITH)

Also didn't seem to work (For me) Vista SP1

radi8
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:54 am

#10 Post by radi8 » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:26 pm

it is portable. Goof effort - should be presented on Portable Freeware!

User avatar
SeanJohnShaffer
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Hawaii, USA
Contact:

#11 Post by SeanJohnShaffer » Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:49 am


Numanoid
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:21 pm

#12 Post by Numanoid » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:06 pm

MiDoJo wrote:not very portable really (creates files (a .bak in the folder above it) Application Folders (Chromium with bookmarks and more in the %apps% Dir) and reg entries including OPEN WITH)
Yeah, I get the same problem :(

User avatar
MiDoJo
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:36 pm

#13 Post by MiDoJo » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:34 pm

Also (and this is from the Major Geeks and the Original blog Installs)

If I run it with admin privileges (via regfromapp) I can open it but only can navigate to the error screen

If I run it regular I get an app error.

OH Yeah and it's Google, so it's perpetual beta and if you have issues the response will be "sorry it's beta we'll fix it when we fix it"

I claim shenanigans on both portability and this whole apps existence (yet another webkit project that will be unpatched as webkit gets patched)

avmad
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:04 am

Re: Portable Chrome - Application Error on run

#14 Post by avmad » Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:11 am

Hi all,

After install of Chrome Portable into my PortableApps folder (on XP Pro), I run it from the PortableApps menu.

I get an application (0xc0...05) error right away.

BTW - This also occurs with the Iron Portable install.

My other portable apps load fine (including FireFox portable).

Any ideas why this is occurring?

Thanks!

avmad

avmad
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:04 am

Re: Portable Chrome

#15 Post by avmad » Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:17 am

For description of the likely problem, see http://chromespot.com/forum/google-chro ... hrome.html.

What is the fix for PortableApps menu execution?

Thx

avmad

Post Reply