It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:14 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: QiPress - keypress monitor
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 3:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 4:28 pm
Posts: 454
http://aalapshah.in/qipress/
Quote:
iPress is a freeware program which displays key presses on the screen. It is a portable application (no installation required, just plug-n-play). With ability to control what to display, its a must-have tool for live software product demos and screen-cast recordings.
Features:
1) Displays any key pressed on keyboard, including standard and numpad
2) Displays state of Caps, Num and Scroll Locks
3) Displays buttons pressed on Mouse
4) Displays state of Modifer Keys, viz. Win, Ctrl, Shift, Alt
5) You can place it anywhere on the screen simply by dragging
6) Its portable, just copy it to your thumb drive and use it on any Windows computer.
7) Its FREE! No nags, no ads.
Advanced Functions
1) Set Background Color, Text Color, Size, Font Style
2) Set Transparency, Click Through
3) Deactivate some Key Groups at will (viz. do not show mouse clicks)

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
http://aalapshah.in/downloads/QiPress%20Portable.zip
http://aalapshah.in/downloads/QiPress%2 ... %20x64.zip
Settings in app folder
Seems portable


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 7:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Posts: 3887
Location: Sol3
Nice find, billon. 8)

I just wish QIcon wouldn't be greedy with the input (while it is enabled, it doesn't reach other programs) and there was an OSD placement option (it can be changed directly in 'QiPress.ini').


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 9:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Posts: 7421
Location: US, Texas
Midas wrote:
Nice find, billon

Agreed. Wow. I was just thinking about needing something like this for a video / screencasting howto I was putting together and I just couldn't put it together in my brain how to list out the key combos without using some kind of prepared PowerPoint thing, which sucks.

Anyway, this is outstanding for just that purpose.

_________________
Supporting Net Neutrality - BattleForTheNet | Why this matters | More from EFF.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 10:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Posts: 7421
Location: US, Texas
As I can see this being used in presentations on odd workstations, weird computer setups, and just where ever someone can get the program running, this may be one of the best examples of a need for portable software. As such, it really needed to get added to the database. Voting now open.

_________________
Supporting Net Neutrality - BattleForTheNet | Why this matters | More from EFF.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am
Posts: 4139
Cool tool. Both 32 & 64-bit version tested portable.

Works on multiple monitors
Does not work well sandboxed though.

Anyone figured out how to record $, &, @, etc. ?

_________________
Bəəs 2.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 4:28 pm
Posts: 454
Maybe it's funny... but now it's not work for me
When launch, got this:
Attachment:
WTF.png
WTF.png [ 5.21 KiB | Viewed 7974 times ]

Shows only numkeys, space and mouse buttons, not shift, alt, ctrl or letters. And don't have "Settings" in QiPress menu in the tray:
Attachment:
WTF-Tray.png
WTF-Tray.png [ 2.37 KiB | Viewed 7974 times ]

2 days ago everything was fine. What happen? I did nothing. It's written on AHK? Cause i have similar problems with Capture2Text
Very strange


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:44 pm
Posts: 2
billon wrote:
Maybe it's funny... but now it's not work for me
When launch, got this:
Attachment:
WTF.png

Shows only numkeys, space and mouse buttons, not shift, alt, ctrl or letters. And don't have "Settings" in QiPress menu in the tray:
Attachment:
WTF-Tray.png

2 days ago everything was fine. What happen? I did nothing. It's written on AHK? Cause i have similar problems with Capture2Text
Very strange


Hallo billon,

Yes, it is written on AHK. What is the OS and architecture (32 or 64 bit) you run QiPress on? Can you tell me exactly the steps you went through to get this error, so I can recreate it myself?

Edit:

The app has failed in the initialization phase, after registering only some sets of key groups (the ones you see working). It has not built the tray icon yet nor any menu, hence you don't see any of it, just the default tray which is very basic.

Registering the "a" hotkey has failed on your machine (the starting of all alphabetical keys), and I have not been able to recreate it on my Win 7 32/64 bit and Win8 64-bit machine. Can you please let me know if the problem still persists, and steps for me to recreate?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Posts: 7421
Location: US, Texas
I am Baas wrote:
Anyone figured out how to record $, &, @, etc. ?

I think because those aren't techically keys, they would show up as Shift 4, Shift 7, and Shift / respectively.

_________________
Supporting Net Neutrality - BattleForTheNet | Why this matters | More from EFF.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am
Posts: 4139
webfork wrote:
I am Baas wrote:
Anyone figured out how to record $, &, @, etc. ?

I think because those aren't techically keys, they would show up as Shift 4, Shift 7, and Shift / respectively.

Thanks, webfork.

_________________
Bəəs 2.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am
Posts: 4139
QiPress is at version 1.25:

Quote:
1) Support to display Static Text (Unicode)
2) Minor bugs resolved


http://aalapshah.in/qipress/

_________________
Bəəs 2.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:00 pm
Posts: 1618
Location: Ingolstadt [DE]
Updated by me to v1.25 at 2013-09-25 :wink:


Attachments:
Update.gif
Update.gif [ 34.48 KiB | Viewed 7493 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:44 pm
Posts: 2
I am Baas wrote:
webfork wrote:
I am Baas wrote:
Anyone figured out how to record $, &, @, etc. ?

I think because those aren't techically keys, they would show up as Shift 4, Shift 7, and Shift / respectively.

Thanks, webfork.

Now possible with v1.043.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Posts: 3887
Location: Sol3
Cool! Thanks, utilfreak. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Posts: 7421
Location: US, Texas
Another keyboard monitor program, this one GPL'd

Screenshot (it's big so I didn't just paste it into this post):
http://a.fsdn.com/con/app/proj/nohboard ... ttings.png

Quote:
NohBoard is an attempt at making a free/open source keyboard visualizer with as much customization possibilities as posisble.

It's main use is for livestreamers that want to overlay their currently pressed keys on their streams. But feel free to use it for any other purpose as well.

Settings are opened by right clicking anywhere in the main window.


http://sourceforge.net/projects/nohboard/
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/OS- ... oard.shtml

Think this would be great for presentations showing key combos.

---

Edit: NohBoard unforutnately didn't work on my win7x64 device:

System Error: The program can't start because d3dx9_43.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.

Minor research on this suggests that it requires Direct X, which is odd.

_________________
Supporting Net Neutrality - BattleForTheNet | Why this matters | More from EFF.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QiPress - keypress monitor
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 8:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am
Posts: 4139
Re-tested QiPress v1.063: Portable - not stealth

\user\all\QiPress

_________________
Bəəs 2.0


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group