It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:59 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 1:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 4118
[Moderator note: this is the primary Opera (Blink engine) program thread. View database entry]

----

I don't think an explanation is really required this time around after the last topic racked up an impressive 196 posts.

Source: http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/op ... 0-released
Source: http://www.ghacks.net/2013/05/28/opera- ... e-product/

v12 User Agent:
Code:
Opera/9.80 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64) Presto/2.12.388 Version/12.15

v15 User Agent:
Code:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/28.0.1500.20 Safari/537.36 OPR/15.0.1147.18 (Edition Next)

_________________
Added 179 Applications: Portable


Last edited by guinness on Tue May 28, 2013 2:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 2:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 4118
I also downloaded and extracted the separate download of Opera Mail and it would appear to be Portable. Though I didn't check for registry changes, just files and folders in Sandboxie.

_________________
Added 179 Applications: Portable


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 4:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:31 pm
Posts: 252
So, is Opera 15 portable or not?

(BTW, I am hugely disappointed that they removed the mail client. It was the main reason why I chose Opera a thousand years ago in the first place.)

_________________
"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better."
-- Samuel Beckett


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 5:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 4118
Well I would presume so, but it's an Opera Next version so it's not worth testing just yet.

Reading the comments in the Desktop Blog got me thinking that don't people understand this isn't a stable version. OK, features are missing from this build, but it doesn't mean Opera are doing away with them in the 'final' product. Take for example 'Private Tabs', looking at the help section of Opera is documented about the usage of 'Private Tabs', so I therefore believe this to be a 'see what new features' are coming and will integrate the old ones at a later stage in the development process.

_________________
Added 179 Applications: Portable


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 6:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Posts: 1713
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Most likely Opera Software hasn't yet even fully decided which features will be included in Opera 15.

_________________
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 11th playlist: January 26, 2018


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 9:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 2902
Location: Romania
So disappointed... Just another chrome browser...

Do I have to curse every time I accidentally close a tab because I can't remove the close tab button, like when using Chrome? And their official position is one that really made me HATE GOOGLE: http://code.google.com/p/chromium/issue ... l?id=50913 And I'm not alone: http://productforums.google.com/forum/# ... ke8SOdV5y0
I don't think I'll ever use Opera (15 and up) again until I can deal with this issue.

_________________
My Tox ID


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 10:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm
Posts: 911
So since Opera is switching to Blink / Webkit, are they still maintaining portable installs? Any word on stealthiness?

I had a feeling that Opera could not bring across many of its features; might as well use Maxthon if you want a better Webkit alternative that builds upon Chromium's interface.

I do kind of love the "Stash" feature. I'm one of those people that have way too many tabs open and this may be a nifty way to solve that problem.

Great to hear that Opera is spinning off M2 though. Have been using Thunderbird and looking for a change.

_________________
is it stealth? ;)


Last edited by freakazoid on Tue May 28, 2013 10:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:30 am
Posts: 163
Pretty basic so far. I REALLY hope they'll restore most -if not all of- v.12's functionality.
SYSTEM wrote:
Most likely Opera Software hasn't yet even fully decided which features will be included in Opera 15.

Seems like that. From their dev blog (http://my.opera.com/ODIN/blog/2013/05/28/a-first-peek-at-opera-15-for-computers)
Quote:
Other features missing from the first release of Opera based on Chromium will be evaluated and potentially re-instated in future releases.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 2902
Location: Romania
Portable, not stealth.

Still hate it! Freaking close tab button made me cry a little!

Edit: what a depressing 2000 post... :cry:

_________________
My Tox ID


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Posts: 1165
Location: Hungary
Quote:
what a depressing 2000

Come on, real anniversary will be post No 2048 :)

_________________
yet another PortablizerList of programs made portable by yaP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 2902
Location: Romania
In a bit ... ;)

_________________
My Tox ID


Last edited by joby_toss on Tue May 28, 2013 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Posts: 1165
Location: Hungary
Haven't tried this snapshot and probably saved myself a slap :)

Attachment:
opera_batman_slap.jpg
opera_batman_slap.jpg [ 44.85 KiB | Viewed 153718 times ]

_________________
yet another PortablizerList of programs made portable by yaP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 1:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 4118
Ha ha, nice image tproli!

_________________
Added 179 Applications: Portable


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 1:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Posts: 1165
Location: Hungary
Original is from here:
http://thomashunter.name/batman-comic/g ... 4288d2.jpg

_________________
yet another PortablizerList of programs made portable by yaP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is Opera 15 standard portable or not ?
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 2:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 4118
I'm not moving from Opera just yet, but this article turned up on Ghacks >> http://www.ghacks.net/2013/05/29/whats- ... ternative/

_________________
Added 179 Applications: Portable


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group