Question on file redirection

Discuss anything related to JauntePE, the utlimate utility to help you tame non-portable applications. Share your experience about the apps that work with JauntePE, and the apps that don't.
BAHeath

Question on file redirection

#1 Post by BAHeath »

Hello

I am new to JauntePE and have had some trouble trying to portablize my first app DVDFabHDDecrypter3.1.6.0.

When I have file redirection turned on and run the app it will freeze, I then have to use Task Manager to kill it.

If I turn off file redirection I can get the app to run to a point where it crashes because it is looking for some files from the program folder. If I copy the files over manually to the portable app directory then it runs without crashing.

My confusion is I thought with the redirection turned on it would pull any necessary files into the portable app directory automatically.

Any feedback would be appreciated

Local

#2 Post by Local »

I think it might be worth reading all of the other posts in the forum on this subject.

As far as I know JPE cannot move files.
What it does is redirect your application in where it looks for and stores files and reg entries.

You should be able to redirect your program to look for the files in the home directory but you must place them there yourself.

There are plenty of instructions on the forum to help you understand

I found most of my answers here
http://www.portablefreeware.com/forums/ ... php?t=1968

Firewrath

#3 Post by Firewrath »

Local wrote: As far as I know JPE cannot move files.
What it does is redirect your application in where it looks for and stores files and reg entries.
Actually, JPE does move files when the file redirection is on,
if you JPE notepad and then save a text file on the desktop, itll get redirected, generally to "<app>.exe\filesystem\desktop\<file>"

what JPE Cant do (yet? ...as its an interesting idea,)