Making MS ActiveSync portable?

Discuss anything related to JauntePE, the utlimate utility to help you tame non-portable applications. Share your experience about the apps that work with JauntePE, and the apps that don't.
PeterS

Making MS ActiveSync portable?

#1 Post by PeterS »

Hello everybody

Just read about JPE recently and then found a lot of interesting information and contributions in this forum! Needless to say, I'm new to this topic and have 0 experience with JPE so far. And don't ask why I said it anyway... :?

Anyway - due to some rather rigidly imposed restrictions on the machine in the salt mine, I started wondering if it were possible to have the synchronization software for Windows Mobile devices (i.e. MS ActiveSync) turned portable?
I realize that ActiveSync is quite a package (as it also installs the processes wcescomm.exe and WCESMgr.exe), but before digging into the portability issues with that goal on my mind, I just wanted to ask if anybody has already made some experiences with that application - or if there is a particular reason why this will NEVER work...

Any comments will be greatly appreciated - and even if in the end it does not work with ActiveSync, I'm sure I'll find some other interesting stuff that can be achieved with JPE! (And with that I only mean interesting for me, since I wouldn't dare wanting to define 'interesting' as a generalized classification... :wink: )

Thanks,

Peter

redllar

#2 Post by redllar »

Hey Peter, if you don't get any answers I'd be willing to work with you on attempting to portablize this via JPE. You'd need to do all of the work though since I don't have access to ActiveSync. I'll try and do a bit of research on it just so I know the basics of it.

Local

#3 Post by Local »

I've had a look at this and I'm puzzled as hell.

There are at least 8 separate processes to activesync and I'm not too sure if any single one controls the others.