Yet another Attempt to make portable software

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
Zach Thibeau

Yet another Attempt to make portable software

#1 Post by Zach Thibeau »

ok Guys JauntePE as far as we know has ceased development (Unless someone heard otherwise that is). I am going to take up the cause but mine is going to be open-source. Currently I am looking for some good programmers. I am thinking of C++ as my main language if anyone would like to be part of my team, they can contact me at thibeaz@gmail.com. I'll also will be opening a development forum at portableappsworld.com, but first I need a crew. As for my part I am a newbie in programming in c laguages but I am learning. I can do graphics and what not. Eventually I will be doing alot of programming. Been doing some studying and some of the syntax looks very much like autoit and nsis so I hope my transition will be smooth. Will be looking for those emails :P
Thanks in advance
Zach Thibeau
Portableappsworld.com Admin

nycjv321

cool!

#2 Post by nycjv321 »

well im newbie coder 2! NSIS and AutoIT, i tried MASM but that went horribly wrong :( but yea ill help with what you need, like documentation etc. u know

Zach Thibeau

Thanks

#3 Post by Zach Thibeau »

Thaks for the reply. SUre you can help with documentation. and if you know of anyone else that could help have them email me at thibeaz@gmail.com

Firewrath

#4 Post by Firewrath »

well, first off, due to RL reasons i totally Suck at coding, so i wont be much help to you there, :P

but, if you want an idea what to make,....

Something like a 'RegShot' wizard thatd generate NSIS script is prolly the best way to go,
IE: itd detect all the changes the program makes,
ask you which ones you want to include,
then makes the portable .exe and file system,

other then that,
the biggest thing your going to run into is detecting what the program is doing system-wise and getting it to be redirected to some portable setting,
i mean,