It is currently Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:11 am
Posts: 323
@smaragdus

Quote:
Thanks for your immediate response, it is nice to hear from the developer of my beloved Famulus, at least I know that you are safe and sound! :)

Yeah, I am still around. I just don't code nearly as much as I used to, and what I do write I often don't polish to the point of being able to release it. :|

Quote:
I have tested scores of launchers of any kind and Famulus is among my greatest favourites, so I would like to thank you for your excellent work- please accept my great and sincere thanks for this nifty little tool! ;)
You are very welcome! It is always nice (and a bit surprising) to hear someone actually uses one of my apps. :lol: If you have tested a bunch of launchers then I assume you have tried ContolPad? https://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?id=1891 It is what I cop... I mean, what inspired me to create Famulus. 8)

Quote:
In case that in the future you change your mind and decide to release a new version of Famulus (I really hope that 1.00.5b is not the last version!) I have a tiny fancy feature request- an additional column in "Commands" menu (perhaps next to "Option" column) which shows some statistics- the number of times a program or file has been launched.
Unfortunately, I have no plans to make any changes to Famulus. If someone found a significant bug I would certainly try to fix it, but as far as I am concerned at this point Famulus is feature complete. Sorry. :oops:

Quote:
Since Famulus is running just great on my Windows 8 x64 machine (it is very light on RAM usage by the way) I updated Famulus database entry adding Windows 8 to the supported Windows versions.
Thank you kindly. :D

Quote:
If there are new Betas in the future it will be my pleasure to test them! ;)
Well as I said I have no plans to change or add to Famulus, but I may have an alternative proposal. You say you would like to have a count of the number of times Famulus opens something? Do you particularly want that feature as part of Famulus itself, or would it suffice to have it another way separate from Famulus?

What I am thinking is a simple 'middle man' app that you would launch from Famulus, and it would then launch a designated file or program and save a launch count to a log file. If that sounds like something you could really use I would be happy to see what I can do. I code as a hobby. The main reason I have a folder full of unfinished apps is at some point they get so complicated that they are no longer fun to work on, so I abandon them. Changing Famulus would be a HUGE amount of time and work, but making a middle man app sounds much more doable and enjoyable to me.

What do you think? :)

_________________
"My dear Mr Gyrth, I am never more serious than when I am joking."
~Albert Campion
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Website | Demo scripts | Blog | External contact


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:52 am
Posts: 131
Hi there - couldn't resist having a quick peek and I'll admit I haven't studied the code very well but it seems stats can be added fairly quickly (see ZIP) - all changed & new lines are marked with "; stats" at the end of the line.
Works here but I don't know what all the other labels are meant to do so I only added it to "check:" label where I believe the programs are launched. (I won't work on it further but thought I'd share my experiment).


Attachments:
Famulus-with-stats.zip [5.98 KiB]
Downloaded 12 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:11 am
Posts: 323
@lintalist

...The code is strong with this one. :shock:

I honestly have no idea how the Famulus' code really works at this point. It has been years since I wrote it, I did not comment the code and lets face it I am rubbish at coding on a good day. All that is why I said it would be a lot of work to add stats. Thank you lintalist, for this. If this fulfills smaragdus's requirements, then wonderful! :D

@smaragdus

Give lintalist's code a try, and see if it works as you requested. :)

_________________
"My dear Mr Gyrth, I am never more serious than when I am joking."
~Albert Campion
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Website | Demo scripts | Blog | External contact


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Posts: 1464
Location: Aeaea
@dmg

First, thank you very much for your detailed and informative reply.

Second, excuse me for my delayed answer. I usually respond faster but for about a week or more I experienced a kind of software fatigue, I would call it even software nausea. During that time I almost didn't touch my PC (only checking some sports results and peeping into my mail notifier with despair- there are still scores of unread mails).

No, I have never tested ControlPad.
I got the idea about statistics column from another long time ago abandoned launcher- HotKeyz:

Image

In fact one of the reasons I started using Famulus was that I was running short of shortcut key combinations. ;)

About the 'middle man'- in my humble opinion it will become needlessly complicated and I do not think that such a 'middle man' is worth the effort. So far I have no complaints about Famulus-I am using it since 28th October and so far I have encountered neither problems nor crashes.

@dmg & @lintalist

I am not a programmer and I got an error when I tried to compile Famulus.ahk. Can you help me with the compilation?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:11 am
Posts: 323
@smaragdus

My idea for the middle man would have been to have a single .exe for Famulus to run, and pass the intended file paths to it. It should have worked just as Famulus works now, except the launch commands would be altered and stats would be in a single .ini file. But it looks like @lintalist's solution works just fine.

Here is the compiled version. I suspect you had trouble because you were missing some of the source files.


Attachments:
Famulus (with stats).zip [727.83 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times

_________________
"My dear Mr Gyrth, I am never more serious than when I am joking."
~Albert Campion
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Website | Demo scripts | Blog | External contact
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Posts: 1464
Location: Aeaea
@dmg

Thank you very much for the compilation! Also many thanks to lintalist for his contribution!

I tested Famulus with stats and it really works fine:

Image

In fact when I first responded to this thread I didn't expect the developer to chime in, I simply wanted to express my satisfaction with this tiny and light tool- I am not a programmer but I always appreciate resource-efficient and well-written code, especially now, when I am so much fed up with bulky and heavy Electron monsters.

I do not want to go too far yet I would like to ask- will making Famulus Commands window resizable require much effort?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:11 am
Posts: 323
@smaragdus

You are most welcome.

Sadly, window resizing is not something I have ever been able to implement. I do have two apps with resizable windows, but only because the required code was provided by other members of the AutoHotkey forum. I have tried a few times to translate that code over to other apps but I have not succeeded. As I mentioned in an above post, I am really not good at coding. Especially since I often go months without touching code, so my skills keep fading. Sorry. :(

Of course feel free to see if anyone else can make the those changes to the code, and good luck. :)


On an unrelated topic, since you test a lot of apps would you be willing to have a look at my current project? It is a simple desktop widget showing current time in binary code. If you care to, just look over the program options and help text. See if you spot anything that could be improved or re phrased. :)


Attachments:
Binal.zip [390.31 KiB]
Downloaded 5 times

_________________
"My dear Mr Gyrth, I am never more serious than when I am joking."
~Albert Campion
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Website | Demo scripts | Blog | External contact
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Posts: 1464
Location: Aeaea
@dmg

I was about to ask you whether you were willing to share some of your recent work but I felt uncomfortable because I had been asking too much lately. So- thank you for uploading Binal. I have already downloaded it and I will have a look at it later today or perhaps tomorrow- now I feel deadly tired after severely testing another program which required a lot of efforts. If there are other programs you are developing please don't hesitate to show them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:52 am
Posts: 131
@dmg it is not as hard at is sounds - it would probably won't take you more as 15 minutes.

0. Give your Gui a +MinSize (current dimensions so it can't be made smaller as what you currently have set it to)
1. #include AutoXYWH() - https://autohotkey.com/boards/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1079
2. Make sure each control you want to move has a variable name (incl. text controls)
3. Add a GuiSize: label and in that label call AutoXYWH() for each control you want to move - automatically changing width & height of the listview would be something like: AutoXYWH("wh", "list")

With a bit of trial and error playing around with w h x y (hence the 15 minutes) you'll be done 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:11 am
Posts: 323
@lintalist

Thank you kindly. I will look at that and try again, but it really does look like what I have tried before. Never got it to work on any of my GUIs but who knows. :D

_________________
"My dear Mr Gyrth, I am never more serious than when I am joking."
~Albert Campion
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Website | Demo scripts | Blog | External contact


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Famulus
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 4:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:52 am
Posts: 131
Proof of concept :wink: ( assuming you #include-d AutoXYWH) I "; stopped here" to indicate the controls you need to do if you wish to implement it.
Code:
edit_commands:
{
   if (commands_gui != "1")
    {
      gui, 3:default
      gui, 3:+MinSize720x435 +Resize
      lv_headers := "Activation Code|File Path - Parameters|Working Directory|Option|Used"
      gui, 3:add, listview, grid nosorthdr sort -lv0x10 -multi altsubmit r20 w700 h305 x10 y10 vlist gget_row, %lv_headers%
      gui, 3:add, groupbox, vgbox x10 y320 w700 h80
      gui, 3:add, text, x20 y340 w80 h20   vactivation_code_text, Activation Code:
      gui, 3:add, edit, x103 y340 w137 h20 vactivation_code,
      gui, 3:add, text, x250 y340 w50 h20  vfile_path_text, File Path:
      gui, 3:add, edit, x300 y340 w326 h20 vfile_path,
      gui, 3:add, button, x628 y340 w30 h20 vget_path_botton gget_path, File
      gui, 3:add, button, x658 y340 w30 h20 vget_path_dir_button gget_path_dir, Dir.
      gui, 3:add, button, x688 y340 w12 h20 vopen_width_button gopen_with, * ; stopped here
      gui, 3:add, text, x20 y370 w40 h20, Option:
      gui, 3:add, dropdownlist, r4 x60 y370 w136 h20 voption, |max|min|hid
      gui, 3:add, text, x206 y370 w90 h20, Working Directory:
      gui, 3:add, edit, x300 y370 w368 h20 vwork_dir,
      gui, 3:add, button, x670 y370 w30 h20 gget_dir, Dir.
      gui, 3:add, button, x10 y410 w60 h20 gclear, Clear
      gui, 3:add, button, x70 y410 w60 h20 gconvert_path, Convert
      gui, 3:add, button, x530 y410 w60 h20 gsave, Save
      gui, 3:add, button, x590 y410 w60 h20 gdelete, Delete
      gui, 3:add, button, default x650 y410 w60 h20 g3guiclose, Done
      gui, 3:show, w720 h435, Commands
      commands_gui := "1"
    }
   goto, list
}
return

3GuiSize:
   If (A_EventInfo = 1) ; The window has been minimized.
      Return
AutoXYWH("wh"    , "list")
AutoXYWH("yw"    , "gbox")
AutoXYWH("y"     , "activation_code_text")
AutoXYWH("y"     , "activation_code")
AutoXYWH("y"     , "file_path_text")
AutoXYWH("y"     , "file_path")
AutoXYWH("y"     , "get_path_button")
AutoXYWH("y"     , "get_path_dir_button")
AutoXYWH("y"     , "open_width_button")
; etc
Return


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Midas and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group