yaP - yet another Portablizer

If you are currently developing portable freeware or planning to do so, use this forum to discuss technical implementation, seek out like-minded developers for partnership, or solicit interested users for beta testing.
Message
Author
User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#271 Post by tproli »

Indeed they were helpful but it was hard to maintain the docs on 2 places. The ini provides only simple examples and the website is where the full doc is available.

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6705
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#272 Post by Midas »

It seem yaP's replaceline directive (http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/#keyword_replaceline) isn't able to replace lines that include/start with double quotes, either in [BEFORE] or [AFTER] sections -- I'm having trouble replacing either "ExePath or "ExePath" with NULL. Is some form of escaping required?

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#273 Post by tproli »

It seems to work fine here:

Code: Select all

replaceline = test.ini :: "ExePath" :: NULL
before:

Code: Select all

a
b
c
"ExePath" d
e
after:

Code: Select all

a
b
c
NULL
e
Is there any spaces before the "ExePath" in your target file? If yes, include spaces in the search part too:

Code: Select all

replaceline =     test.ini :: "ExePath" :: NULL

TTwrs
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 12:02 pm

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#274 Post by TTwrs »

Would it be possible for YaP to extract and use the icon from the app being YaP'd, instead of using the YaP icon for everything?

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#275 Post by tproli »

Unfortunately no, an exe cannot re-build itself. You have to use an external application to change the icon.

User avatar
loin2kolpotoru
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:20 am

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#276 Post by loin2kolpotoru »

I have two questions -
How to backup & restore multiple registry keys with yap?
How to use yap with Java Portable?

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#277 Post by tproli »

1: you have to use multiple "reg" lines
2: I don't know how Java Portable works and neither knows yaP :)

User avatar
loin2kolpotoru
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:20 am

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#278 Post by loin2kolpotoru »

It seems using multiple registry lines requires using multiple .reg files because if i use single .reg file for all registry entrys then only the last line of registry entry is processed.

If single .reg file can be used then please explain with a example.

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#279 Post by tproli »


User avatar
Ascend4nt
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:37 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

yaP - mpTrim - lossless MP3 editor

#280 Post by Ascend4nt »

I have another INI example for your site tproli.

mpTrim is a program for losslessly editing MP3 files (in other words, no reencode after modifications are made).

Webpage: mptrim.com
mpTrim.com wrote:mpTrim is a simple and easy to use MP3 editor.
Use it to improve your MP3 collection.
What exactly can mpTrim do for you?

mpTrim can trim MP3s - removing silent or unwanted parts.
mpTrim can adjust the volume of MP3s. Volume change can be manual or automatic (volume normalization).
mpTrim can fade-in/out MP3s (to fix abrupt beginning/ending).
mpTrim can clean-up MP3s and recover wasted disk space.
mpTrim keeps the music quality intact, no matter how many times you process an MP3, because it works directly in the MP3 format without having to decode/re-encode. That also makes it very fast.
The program writes to the registry key HKCU\Software\mpTrim so it was pretty easy to make the INI for this. Here it is:

Code: Select all

; configuration file for yaP v0.6 (http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/)
; application name: mpTrim
; version: 2.13
; website: http://www.mptrim.com/

[GENERAL]
application = App\mpTrim.exe

[BEFORE]
regkey = HKCU\Software\mpTrim
Instructions for portability (basically the same for most yaP stuff):

1. Create a folder named mpTrimPortable
2. unzip yaP into the folder
3. rename yaP.exe to mpTrimPortable.exe and yaP.ini to mpTrimPortable.ini
4. download mpTrim.zip from the download link on the homepage
5. unzip it in the mpTrimPortable\App subfolder
6. Run mpTrimPortable!

*edit: I just noticed now that there are other entries for mpTrim in the forum. I missed it first because i typed mp3Trim (durr). Anyway, there's also a JauntPE launcher.

Oh, and apparently there's a file-size limit :roll:. However, I just verified that the PRO version works with the same registry branch, so the same instructions above can be used with the exception that the application name is 'mpTrim PRO.exe'

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#281 Post by tproli »


User avatar
AtmanActive
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:22 am
Location: Malta

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#282 Post by AtmanActive »

Hi tproli,

First, congrats and thank you very much for creating this wonderful piece of software.

I have a small feature suggestion for you regarding the '!multiple' behavior:
If possible, please add one more option to it:

Code: Select all

!multiple = 1 always enable multiple instances (no prompt)
!multiple = 2 run the main application without BEFORE and AFTER items
!multiple = -1 always disable multiple instances (no dialog)

Code: Select all

!multiple = -2 always disable multiple instances (no dialog), but restore (if minimized), bring-to-front and give focus to already running application
It is very useful in case I can't immediately spot my running application (because there are already dozens of them on my taskbar), and I erroneously try to start the application again.
So, if I click on the shortcut link, and, of course multiple instances are disabled, it would be great if the application would come to front, having the same effect as starting it, but still making sure there are no multiple instances running.
Right now, when '!multiple=-1', in such situation, absolutely nothing happens, leaving me wondering "why the heck it's not working now?" :-)

Thanks.

Cheers!

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#283 Post by tproli »

In theory "2" might do the same because it re-runs the main exe but I'm aware that different applications behave differently (some open new tab, run another instance).

I added it to the todo list, will see it later.

just.odd.dude
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 7:55 am

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#284 Post by just.odd.dude »

Thanks for a great program. I have some questions and suggestions.

1. !waitprocess uses the window title, not the name of the process? In my case the title of the window depends on the localization of the program, and the name of the process is constant.
2. I would like to have "no overwrite" for "+regvalue".
3. With keyword "application" I run x32 or x64 version of programm, but they have configuration in external exe file with standart name (configuration.exe as exsample). In programm dir exists two version of this file, extracted from setup (configuration32.exe and configuration64.exe). I could make a copy of the desired file with the correct name, but I do not know how to determine x32 or x64 system. Something you can advise?
4. What you think about add some small description for apps in main site http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/? Now people can not find your website when looking for portable programs with some functional, but without knowing programm name.

Thank.

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#285 Post by tproli »

Hi,

1 - I will see if that is possible
2 - ditto (I guess yes)
3 - how about using two ini files? The latest beta of yaP can switch to YOURINIFILEX64.ini if the host system is 64bit
4 - the website definitely needs such improvements, will do it when having some free time

Post Reply