VidCoder [DotNET video transcoder]

Submit portable freeware that you find here. It helps if you include information like description, extraction instruction, Unicode support, whether it writes to the registry, and so on.
Message
Author
User avatar
Userfriendly
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:41 pm

VidCoder [DotNET video transcoder]

#1 Post by Userfriendly »

http://vidcoder.codeplex.com/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YEZHZghj0k
VidCoder is a DVD/Blu-ray ripping and video transcoding application for Windows. It uses HandBrake as its encoding engine. Calling directly into the HandBrake library gives it a more rich UI than the official HandBrake Windows GUI.
Requirements: .NET 4.0
Since 1.4.16 Beta, you can now edit 2 config files to specify where to save app settings. Specifically, 'VidCoder.exe.config' and 'VidCoderWorker.exe.config'. The line you need to change is commented so its hard to miss. Portable mode should look like this:

Code: Select all

<appSettings>
     <add key="SettingsDirectory" value="." />
</appSettings>
Handbrake is a popular media encoder but it's not portable. This alternative gui is kinda portable in the sense that it can have its settings stored in the application folder but it still requires .NET framework.

juvera
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:05 am

VidCoder

#2 Post by juvera »

I am just curious why VidCoder ( https://vidcoder.codeplex.com/ ), a BlueRay Ripper and video transcoder is not discussed at TPFC
It has portable versions (not tested): https://vidcoder.codeplex.com/releases/view/108094

User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6710
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: VidCoder

#3 Post by Midas »

Probably, because you're the first one to do it...

@Mod.: I think this topic should be moved to submissions.

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: VidCoder

#4 Post by guinness »

Did you test for portability or are you taking the developers word that it's Portable?

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: VidCoder

#5 Post by I am Baas »

Midas wrote:@Mod.: I think this topic should be moved to submissions.
@moderator... I believe Midas is incorrect in his assessment but I agree that it should be moved :roll: :P

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 10818
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: VidCoder

#6 Post by webfork »

juvera wrote:I am just curious why VidCoder ( https://vidcoder.codeplex.com/ ), a BlueRay Ripper and video transcoder is not discussed at TPFC
From the site, emphasis added:
Added a portable version. This packages up VidCoder as an .exe file that does not need to be installed. Be aware that it's not completely portable as you still need .NET 4 Client Profile on the computer for Windows versions earlier than 8.
May still qualify as portable so I'll push it over to the Submissions forum. FWG Review from 2010.

User avatar
Userfriendly
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:41 pm

Re: VidCoder

#7 Post by Userfriendly »

I did a submission a while back viewtopic.php?t=20444

juvera
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:05 am

Re: VidCoder

#8 Post by juvera »

I did some testing on the current portability of VidCoder (RegShot, and installation test) and posted the outcome in this forum about 3-4 hours ago. My post is not there ... got lost? no Pb!
The portability depends on the OS, .. under Win7 not fully portable as it require a dot net thing, but is portable under win8 (they say!), I am running win7.
I am glad if some one takes the initiative to move VidCoder to the submission transit zone!

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: VidCoder

#9 Post by I am Baas »

Why is it posted / moved here?

AppData\Roaming\VidCoder\ImageCache
AppData\Roaming\VidCoder\Logs
VidCoder.sqlite
Userfriendly wrote:Since 1.4.16 Beta, you can now edit 2 config files to specify where to save app settings. Specifically, 'VidCoder.exe.config' and 'VidCoderWorker.exe.config'. The line you need to change is commented so its hard to miss. Portable mode should look like this:

Code: Select all

<appSettings>
     <add key="SettingsDirectory" value="." />
</appSettings>
:?:

Settings stored in VidCoder.sqlite file.

User avatar
Userfriendly
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:41 pm

Re: VidCoder

#10 Post by Userfriendly »

Baas, not sure what that question mark means but I assume you didn't understand what I meant. There are two files that you need to modify to force the program to save the files you mentioned in the application folder. Open VidCoder.exe.config and VidcoderWorker.exe.config with notepad and you will see this:

Code: Select all

	<appSettings>
		<!-- Uncomment this line and set the value if you want VidCoder to look in a specific directory for app settings instead of %appdata%\VidCoder
				 Use "." to store the settings files in the same folder as VidCoder.exe.
		     You must also change the same value in VidCoderWorker.exe.config -->
		<!--<add key="SettingsDirectory" value="." />-->
	</appSettings>
You need to uncomment the thing to make it work so it looks like this:

Code: Select all

<appSettings>
     <add key="SettingsDirectory" value="." />
</appSettings>
If done correctly, it will save imagecache. logs, and the VidCoder.sqlite files in the application folder.

It's not 'pure' portable because it requires .NET framework. This is only a problem with old computers that still run winxp or vista. But I wouldn't want to encode videos on those machines anyway.

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: VidCoder

#11 Post by I am Baas »

You stayed true to your name, Userfriendly. Thanks. The :?: was to indicate that I can't find 'VidCoder.exe.config' and 'VidCoderWorker.exe.config' files. The latest VidCoder is packaged as a single .exe.

User avatar
Userfriendly
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:41 pm

Re: VidCoder

#12 Post by Userfriendly »

Yeah its really weird but the single .exe is actually a self-extracting RAR file. It runs Vidcoder in the Temp folder. and deletes on exit I think. You'll need to extract the sfx rar .exe with WinRar, 7z, or Uniextract to see all the program files.

The developer might need a nudge to provide a simple zip archive that's easily portable. They're probably confused on what this whole portable app thing is and how it works.

User avatar
I am Baas
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am

Re: VidCoder

#13 Post by I am Baas »

@Userfriendly
Yes, extracting / editing the config files does it. Thanks.

User avatar
webfork
Posts: 10818
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: US, Texas
Contact:

Re: VidCoder

#14 Post by webfork »

Userfriendly wrote:I did a submission a while back http://www.portablefreeware.com/forums/ ... =4&t=20444
Thanks. Just combined with your thread.

User avatar
smaragdus
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Aeaea

Re: VidCoder

#15 Post by smaragdus »

Userfriendly, your instructions seem to work fine, thanks.

Some new VidCoder links:
http://vidcoder.net/ - new web-site
https://github.com/RandomEngy/VidCoder - new project page at GitHub
https://github.com/RandomEngy/VidCoder/releases - new download page

What is new in the latest version of VidCoder (1.5.32):
- Updated HandBrake core to 0.10.2
- Added Turkish translation, thanks to exthemax and secgin.
- Updated other translations.
- Updated links to point to vidcoder.net and new GitHub page.

Post Reply