Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ? (2)

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ? (2)

#1 Post by guinness » Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:36 am

After a successful year of updating the sub-form Is Opera 10 standard portable or not ? from user joby_toss, the new question now is "Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?"

Download & Details: http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/20 ... the-puzzle
Direct Download: ftp://ftp.opera.com/pub/opera/custom/11alpha/ (Thanks Ruby!)

On first glance it's looking excellent and extensions are already being added :D

Note: The wording of the question is somewhat confusing, but continuing with tradition I used the same question and replacing Opera 10 with Opera 11. Ideally the question should have been/be "Is Opera XX Portable Or Not?" :D
Last edited by guinness on Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:07 am, edited 2 times in total.
Added 179 Applications: Portable

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 1788
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#2 Post by SYSTEM » Thu Oct 21, 2010 2:18 am

Image

Opera Software has realized the importance of portability! :D
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 12th playlist: November 1, 2018

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#3 Post by guinness » Thu Oct 21, 2010 2:37 am

Just literally found that option. I can understand the need for a PortableApps installer, but this new addition will make Opera@USB obsolete, because as I have mentioned in the past, Opera@USB is Opera in a .ZIP file!

Apart from Nokia's Qt Framework, this is the best thing I can think of to come from the Nordic countries which is revolutionising the web!

Note: Nokia = Finnish (not Japanese) & Opera = Norwegian!
Added 179 Applications: Portable

User avatar
SYSTEM
Posts: 1788
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#4 Post by SYSTEM » Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:10 am

guinness wrote:Apart from Nokia's Qt Framework, this is the best thing I can think of to come from the Nordic countries which is revolutionising the web!

Note: Nokia = Finnish (not Japanese) & Opera = Norwegian!
What about Linux? :)
My YouTube channel | Release date of my 12th playlist: November 1, 2018

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#5 Post by guinness » Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:25 am

Oh Yeh Linus forgot about him!
Added 179 Applications: Portable

freakazoid
Posts: 934
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#6 Post by freakazoid » Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:42 pm

I was just about to post about this, but looks like my fellow Opera lovers have made a topic already :)
is it stealth? ;)

Ruby
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#7 Post by Ruby » Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:08 am

Just installed Opera 11 alpha with the new installer (ftp link).

Image

I was hoping that the 'External device' option would somehow sway the opening
of ports in the Firewall.

Image

I pretty sure XP users are not notified of this breech in Firewall security.

I can't understand why they think everybody wants Opera unite and that it is enabled by default.

Aside from that, the installer is swift, and only that lone reg key is still created,
nothing else is written outside the program/profile folder.

There was only 1 lang folder (en) created in the locale directory; nice that it doesn't dump
a bunch of lang's you'll never use.

Nice to see they opted for SFX over MSI.

This was on a clean Vista SP2 install.

freakazoid
Posts: 934
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#8 Post by freakazoid » Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:13 am

XP users do get notified about the firewall breach in Opera 10.

Haven't tried the 11 alpha yet, but has anyone tried using widgets in their Opera 11 alpha portable install?
Last edited by freakazoid on Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
is it stealth? ;)

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#9 Post by guinness » Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:36 am

Thanks Ruby for the link, I added to the Original Post.
Added 179 Applications: Portable

Ruby
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#10 Post by Ruby » Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:53 am

:wink:

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#11 Post by guinness » Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:07 am

OK, I got the hint I added that you told me about it :D
Added 179 Applications: Portable

User avatar
MiDoJo
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:36 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#12 Post by MiDoJo » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:42 am

Ruby, How clean is the inbuilt portable installation, by TPFC standards. I mean great if it will install onto an external drive. . . not so much if it does it and still leaves a non-portable mess (reg entries, AppData, temp files, etc)

Ruby
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#13 Post by Ruby » Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:14 am

It's an SFX archive; it expanded to %localappdata%\temp (working folder) I don't
think it fully cleaned up after itself here but that's it.

The one reg key I believe was created on launch of Opera.

There was some other keys in CurrentControlSet but that was from blocking in Firewall.

I used Regshot for testing; opened a couple web pages and closed; no widgets or extensions.

As long as you use the 'External option' your profile folder is created in the 'Install path' you choose
and 'Multi User=0' is set in operaprefs_default.ini.

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#14 Post by guinness » Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:35 pm

Here are more details about the installer: http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/th ... -installer

The basics of it are if you hated the MSI installer and you loved the Classic, then this SFX installer is just for you!

Seems pointless now because I was going to release my Opera program that creates Opera Portable by placing the Classic (defunct) Installer in the same directory as my program and then simply run. It used the WUN.exe file provided with UniExtract :D Maybe I could release for anyone who is interested in AutoIt.
Added 179 Applications: Portable

jsongray
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: Is Opera 11 standard portable or not ?

#15 Post by jsongray » Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:29 pm

guinness wrote:Just literally found that option. I can understand the need for a PortableApps installer, but this new addition will make Opera@USB obsolete, because as I have mentioned in the past, Opera@USB is Opera in a .ZIP file!

Apart from Nokia's Qt Framework, this is the best thing I can think of to come from the Nordic countries which is revolutionising the web!
covert hypnosis
Note: Nokia = Finnish (not Japanese) & Opera = Norwegian!

Not to mention Opera with Nokia makes browsing even more better and an option to surf the web for free.. Just found that out :)

Post Reply