AirDC++ is evil

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
smaragdus

AirDC++ is evil

#1 Post by smaragdus »

AirDC++ is evil:

because mandatory updates are evil.

By the way logging in to AirDC++ forum does not work.

I have been using AirDC++ for more than six years since version 2.08 but now I have to find a Direct Connect client which does not deprive me of my freedom to update or not to update.

ozziguy

Re: AirDC++ is evil

#2 Post by ozziguy »

Be very cautious of AirDC++. I block outgoing port 25 (SMTP) in my firewall unless i want to send emails via my email client, which is rarely. Normally i use my isp's webmail service

On a few occasions i have caught AirDC++ trying to send emails to somewhere

You are right, it's evil

Userfriendly

#3 Post by Userfriendly »

Out of all the currently actively maintained DC++ clients, FlylinkDC++ seems to be the only which has settings to disable auto update. If you want to keep using your current client without the nag, then just block the update server.

Put this in your hosts file to block update servers for DC++, Apex, Air, and Flylink.
0.0.0.0 dcplusplus.sourceforge.net
0.0.0.0 update.apexdc.net
0.0.0.0 version.airdcpp.net
0.0.0.0 update.fly-server.ru

Here's an answer to why DC++ may be using port 25 https://dcpp.wordpress.com/2006/10/09/w ... end-email/

smaragdus

#4 Post by smaragdus »

@Userfriendly

Thank you for the useful information!

I have two questions:
- Can FlylinkDC++ be run in portable mode?
- Have you ever tested EiskaltDC++ and does it allow disabling of auto-update?

ozziguy

#5 Post by ozziguy »

Thanks for that link UserFriendly

Why on earth would someone use port 25 ? Maybe to annoy everyone else... or maybe they have no idea what they are doing.... who knows

I still don't trust it. Those developers should code their software to not allow the use of certain ports

Userfriendly

#6 Post by Userfriendly »

smaragdus wrote:@UserfriendlyI have two questions: