Problem creating context menu entry for portable program

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Peter202
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:47 am

Problem creating context menu entry for portable program

#1 Post by Peter202 »

I am trying to create a context menu entry for virus total uploader https://www.virustotal.com/en/documenta ... lications/. The program is not created as portable but if you extract the files from the setup file it can be used as portable.

When the program is installed it creates a context menu entry and the registry data for this entry are this:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\*\shell\vtuploader]
@="Send to VirusTotal"
"Icon"="C:\\Program Files\\VirusTotalUploader2\\VirusTotalUploader2.2.exe,0"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\*\shell\vtuploader\command]
@="C:\\Program Files\\VirusTotalUploader2\\VirusTotalUploader2.2.exe \"%1\""
If i uninstall the program and create the registry data for the entry manually it doesn't work, it just trying to install the program instead to send a file to VirusTotal. I am just changing the path in the rigistry to the extracted files directory - E:\PortableApps\VirusTotalUploader2\VirusTotalUploader2.2.exe

Can someone tell me why it doesn't work? I am creating the same registry values.

User avatar
Napiophelios
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:48 pm

Re: Problem creating context menu entry for portable program

#2 Post by Napiophelios »

When you reboot and then test the program, is it still in the same position
(C:\Program Files\VirusTotalUploader2) ?
Manually edit the registry with new pathes then test,
if you havent already.

When you initially installed the program, were there any files created in other areas
besides the programfiles folder?

bzl333
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:11 pm

Re: Problem creating context menu entry for portable program

#3 Post by bzl333 »

Peter202 wrote:I am trying to create a context menu entry for virus total uploader https://www.virustotal.com/en/documenta ... lications/. The program is not created as portable but if you extract the files from the setup file it can be used as portable.

When the program is installed it creates a context menu entry and the registry data for this entry are this:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\*\shell\vtuploader]
@="Send to VirusTotal"
"Icon"="C:\\Program Files\\VirusTotalUploader2\\VirusTotalUploader2.2.exe,0"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\*\shell\vtuploader\command]
@="C:\\Program Files\\VirusTotalUploader2\\VirusTotalUploader2.2.exe \"%1\""
If i uninstall the program and create the registry data for the entry manually it doesn't work, it just trying to install the program instead to send a file to VirusTotal. I am just changing the path in the rigistry to the extracted files directory - E:\PortableApps\VirusTotalUploader2\VirusTotalUploader2.2.exe

Can someone tell me why it doesn't work? I am creating the same registry values.

i use this program:

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/OS- ... Edit.shtml

i uniextracted it and i think its portable.

anyway it works for the VT Uploader as well as PE Studio and JottiQ.

for others like Phrozen VT Uploader (and TeraCopy) it just calls the program and then i have to drag and drop the file. maybe there's a switch setting or something.


i think there might be better context menu editors available but i never got around to learning them yet.

Peter202
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:47 am

Re: Problem creating context menu entry for portable program

#4 Post by Peter202 »

Napiophelios wrote:When you reboot and then test the program, is it still in the same position
(C:\Program Files\VirusTotalUploader2) ?
Manually edit the registry with new pathes then test,
if you havent already.

When you initially installed the program, were there any files created in other areas
besides the programfiles folder?
If i install the program and change the paths in the registry manually it still doesn't work.

The program installs the registry entry, shortcut file in Send To menu and two files in Program Files - VirusTotalUploader2.2.exe, uninstall.exe

User avatar
Napiophelios
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:48 pm

Re: Problem creating context menu entry for portable program

#5 Post by Napiophelios »

Weird,even when installed it only half works for me.
It uploads the files but hangs when trying to open the browser
Doesnt work with Chromium or Opera....its probably meant for IE.

When you try to use the hacked context menu extension reg
an "openwith" dialogue popus up,if you select the extracted virustotal exe
only then will it work.

the sendto shortcut works great tho.

Peter202
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:47 am

Re: Problem creating context menu entry for portable program

#6 Post by Peter202 »

I found why it didn't work, i didn't put the path to the extracted file in quotes. If i make the path this way it works:

Code: Select all

"E:\PortableApps\VirusTotalUploader2\VirusTotalUploader2.2.exe" "%1"


Edit: I was too fast, it still doesn't work for .exe files. For archive files, script files and other type of files it works, but for .exe files it doesn't want to upload them, i don't know why.

User avatar
joby_toss
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Problem creating context menu entry for portable program

#7 Post by joby_toss »

I just made a shortcut in my SendTo folder (win7x64) for VirusTotalUpload v1.0 (the uniextracted executable) and it works just fine, without any registry hack. I see that only version 2 is available now from the official website, but I'm sure it will work the same.

Peter202
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:47 am

Re: Problem creating context menu entry for portable program

#8 Post by Peter202 »

The shortcut in Send To folder works, the problem is with the entry in the main context menu. I think this is a bug with version 2.2 of the uploader, it is in beta anyway.

Post Reply