Newbie Questions about Registry entries

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
grannyGeek

Newbie Questions about Registry entries

#1 Post by grannyGeek »

I am new to the concept of Portable Apps, and would appreciate a bit of clarification, if you would be so kind....

I've been loading and trying out various apps from various sites that are touted to be "Portable". A number of them, though they do not write to the Registry when unzipped or when installed with their own launcher installer, do write to the Registry in HKCU when I actually open and use them.
In particular, a *lot* from the WinPenPack suites, but a couple from this site too. And some from the application's home page with "download Portable Edition" buttons.
(the one that broke my heart was Foxit PDF Reader. :cry: )

Is this something to just be expected, or are they being called "portable" when they really are not?
(Maybe it's Buyer Beware and I must learn to lower my expectations.)

Is there any other way to test without actually loading and using the software and then examining the Registry?

I hope my questions made sense, and I hope there aren't already a dozen existing posts that I missed when I searched.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Jainendra

#2 Post by Jainendra »

Hi Geek,
Please try this. http://www.snapfiles.com/get/testrun.html
It will solve your problem pretty nicely.
Hope it helps.

Keep smiling !!!

Jainendra

calm_observer

Re: Newbie Questions about Registry entries

#3 Post by calm_observer »

grannyGeek wrote:...A number of them...do write to the Registry in HKCU when I actually open and use them...
this is nomal for many apps.
grannyGeek wrote:...Is this something to just be expected...
yes, but not to worry.
grannyGeek wrote:...Is there any other way to test without actually loading and using the software and then examining the Registry?...