Editing function implemented

Changes, updates etc. related to this website will be posted here.
Message
Author
donald
Posts: 562
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:14 am
Location: knoxville TN USA

Re: Editing function implemented

#46 Post by donald » Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:39 pm

************************
deleted and re-posted to correct thread.
********************************

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Editing function implemented

#47 Post by guinness » Wed Dec 23, 2009 2:05 am

I keep getting the message "Unknown column 'softcat' in 'field list'" when I edit any application in the database.

User avatar
Checker
Posts: 1624
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:00 pm
Location: Ingolstadt [DE]

Re: Editing function implemented

#48 Post by Checker » Wed Dec 23, 2009 4:47 am

guinness wrote:I keep getting the message "Unknown column 'softcat' in 'field list'" when I edit any application in the database.
I have the same problem/message.
I'm unable to update presently.

User avatar
Andrew Lee
Posts: 2209
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Editing function implemented

#49 Post by Andrew Lee » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:11 pm

I keep getting the message "Unknown column 'softcat' in 'field list'" when I edit any application in the database.
My apologies! I was working on the "change history" function and screwed up something. Anyway I have fixed it and will announce the "change history" in a separate post later.

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Editing function implemented

#50 Post by guinness » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:55 pm

Cool! That new function which you will talk about later is pretty awesome, found it by mistake!

User avatar
dmg
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:11 am
Contact:

Re: Editing function implemented

#51 Post by dmg » Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:42 pm

Andrew Lee wrote:I am pleased to announce that an editing function for entries in the database has been implemented.

If you have been registered with the forum for at least 30 days, and you are logged in, you should see an "Edit" link with each entry that allows you to update the entry directly (version, description, icon, screenshot etc).

Lemme know if you find any bugs so that I can squash them.

As I mentioned before, the general direction is to eventually allow everyone to add entries to the database, and allow some form of group moderation. So view this as a first gentle step towards that direction.

Have fun!
I fully admit that I may simply be dense, but I cannot locate this "Edit" link on the database items. And yes, I have been a member for more than 30 days. Any ideas?

Edit: Sorry. I read more of the posts and found where it has been changed to a minimum of 50 forum posts. I was going to update some screenshots. There quite a few applications that have been updated but still have screenshots from the first version to be listed. Oh well...

User avatar
guinness
Posts: 4118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Re: Editing function implemented

#52 Post by guinness » Wed Jul 07, 2010 4:03 pm

Why not upload the screenshots to an image hosting site and those who can/do update will change the screenshots.

ChipsNHotSauce
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:35 am
Location: Growls Garden

Re: Editing function implemented

#53 Post by ChipsNHotSauce » Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:09 pm

Edit: Sorry. I read more of the posts and found where it has been changed to a minimum of 50 forum posts. I was going to update some screenshots. There quite a few applications that have been updated but still have screenshots from the first version to be listed. Oh well...
Well darn... I was wanting to get my hands dirty - getting to 50 forum posts is not easy as it sounds :P

Post Reply