yaP - yet another Portablizer

If you are currently developing portable freeware or planning to do so, use this forum to discuss technical implementation, seek out like-minded developers for partnership, or solicit interested users for beta testing.
Message
Author
just.odd.dude
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 7:55 am

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#286 Post by just.odd.dude »

yaP config file for Start Menu X
Start Menu X is a replacement of the system menu for professionals. - http://www.startmenux.com/

http://pastebin.com/kDAZZ7fW

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#287 Post by tproli »


User avatar
Midas
Posts: 6725
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Sol3

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#288 Post by Midas »

just.odd.dude wrote:Start Menu X is a replacement of the system menu for professionals.
  • Another such utility that might (or not?) lend itself for easy yaP portabilization is Handy Start Menu (http://www.handystartmenu.com/).
    @tproli: I think you should include the full yaP version in yaP INI launcher files...

    I always have yaP auto-generate its INI at the beginning of a new project to insure that I'm using the appropriate syntax. Well, I just discovered that both the v0.6 and the v0.5 I was using (I keep my repository of yaP versions since v0.26) were different from the ones presently published in yaP's homepage. Should the full version be displayed (including builds) I would have been alerted right away -- and, possibly, avoided some of the problems I reported previously.

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#289 Post by tproli »

Makes sense. I will try to add this to the next release, there are some other requests too.

User avatar
Aeolis
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 8:58 am

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#290 Post by Aeolis »

Dear tproli,

Regarding the x86 program writing to x64 Windows registry issue pointed out by Ond3rkor a few posts ago I have found out two links that may help you:

1) http://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtop ... 13&t=58239
2) http://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtop ... 72#p422572

Then when passing the commands to "yaP.exe" they could be used like in AutoIt by using "64" after the Registry header acronym:

Code: Select all

uservar = REGKEY :: HKLM64\Software\MyApp
regkey = {REGKEY} :: Data\settings.reg
+regvalue = {REGKEY}\MyAppOption1 :: PATH :: {EXEPATH}
In the example above "yaP.exe" would understand that when running in a x64 system it should write the value to the x64 native key and when running into a x86 system it would write in the native x86 key.

If user wants to write the same example for writing on both registry keys (the x64 native and the WOW6432node one) he should write the following:

Code: Select all

uservar = REGKEY1 :: HKLM64\Software\MyApp
uservar = REGKEY2 :: HKLM\Software\MyApp
regkey = {REGKEY1} :: Data\settings1.reg
regkey = {REGKEY2} :: Data\settings2.reg
+regvalue = {REGKEY1}\MyAppOption1 :: PATH :: {EXEPATH}
+regvalue = {REGKEY2}\MyAppOption1 :: PATH :: {EXEPATH}
In the example above "yaP.exe" would understand that when running in a x64 system it should write the value to the x64 native key and to the WOW3264node. When running the above code into a x86 system it would write in the native x86 key and ignore the 64 one.

Best regards,

Aeolis

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#291 Post by tproli »

I don't see if this would really work atm but I'll make some tests. Thanks for the info.

User avatar
Aeolis
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 8:58 am

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#292 Post by Aeolis »

Hello folks,

Dear tproli thank you for your attention. Have you tried the "%WinDir%\Sysnative\reg.exe" approach to make x86 yaP launcher to run reg.exe on a x64 Windows and then add the HKLM Registry entry?

By using this approach you would be able to access native HKLM Registry keys without redirection and it would avoid the need of an additional x64 yaP launcher.

Best regards,

Aeolis

User avatar
Ascend4nt
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:37 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Brackets - yaPped

#293 Post by Ascend4nt »

Brackets - yaP'ped

Webpage: Brackets.io
Download page: https://github.com/adobe/brackets/releases

Download size: 39.1 MB
Unpacked size: 90.4 MB
Brackets.io wrote:Brackets is an open source code editor for web designers and front-end developers.
This is a sleek new editor written in Javascript and other technologies, enabled by Node.JS
Its a bit slow at switching between files, but I appreciate the intelligent code-completion especially in Javascript

The program writes to the registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Brackets, as well as the folder %Appdata%\Brackets

Here's the yap Configuration file:

Code: Select all

; configuration file for yaP v0.6 (http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/)
; application name: Brackets
; version: 0.42
; website: http://brackets.io/

[GENERAL]
application = App\brackets.exe

[BEFORE]
regkey = HKCU\Software\Brackets
dir = %Appdata%\Brackets :: Config\
Instructions for portability:

1. Download the Brackets installer (.msi file)
2. Use UniExtract on the Brackets installer - I chose 'MSI Administrative Installer' method
3. Rename the Extracted-To folder to BracketsPortable
4. Delete the Brackets MSI file, and rename the 'Brackets' subfolder to 'App'
5. unzip yaP into the folder
6. rename yaP.exe to BracketsPortable.exe and yaP.ini to BracketsPortable.ini

NOTE: Once preview is invoked, the appdata folder can grow to 19MB+ in size (may slow down startup/shutdown).

*edit: Copy/paste error in INI comments

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#294 Post by tproli »

Thanks for the suggestions, I will see if I can get make them work (eliminating the need of separate 64bit version would be great).
Sorry for the delay but I have to sort other things out first.

Adobe Brackets:

yaP site already has a config for it:
http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/#examples/Brackets.ini

It was made for v0.38 but works with 0.42 too. It also has an example on how to set Chrome path (for the live preview).

Thanks for the set-up instructions, that's what yaP site is still lacking of :)

I may try Brackets in a smaller project and see if it can be an alternative to my current IDE.

sgp
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 am

yaP configuration for Linkman free

#295 Post by sgp »

I didn't find a yaP configuration for Linkman free, so here's mine. yaP's cool, thanks tprpoli!
Notes:
1. I didn't install any of the browser plugins, so I don't know how they portablize with yaP.
2. In Linkman configuration/Start tab leave "use registry instead of ini file" selected
3. Linkman installs folder %MyDocument%\Linkman with some templates.

Code: Select all

; configuration file for yaP v0.6 build 188 beta (http://rolandtoth.hu/yaP/)
; application name: Linkman
; version: 8.9.5.3
; website: http://www.outertech.com

[GENERAL]
application = App\Linkman.exe

[BEFORE]
dir = %MyDocuments%\Linkman :: Settings\MyDocuments-Linkman
; AppData GetDiz seems to be an unrelated contamination in my PC - so you should be OK commenting out the next line.
;dir = %AppData%\Outertech\AppData-GetDiz
regkey = HKCU\Software\Outer Technologies\Linkman :: Settings\Linkman.reg
regkey = HKCU\Software\Outer Technologies\Linkman.exe :: Settings\Linkman.exe.reg
regkey = HKCU\Software\Classes\.lmd :: Settings\.lmd.reg
regkey = HKCU\Software\Classes\Linkman.Data :: Settings\Linkman.Data.reg

[AFTER]
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Outer Technologies\Linkman
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Outer Technologies\Linkman.exe
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Classes\.lmd
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Classes\Linkman.Data
-regvalue = HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run :: Linkman
-regkey = HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\Linkman.exe
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Outer Technologies :: ifempty
; HKCU GetDiz seems to be an unrelated contamination in my PC - so you should be OK commenting out the next two lines.
;-regkey = HKCU\Software\Outertech\GetDiz :: ifempty
;-regkey = HKCU\Software\Outertech :: ifempty
; Next section doesn't seem to be language dependent - but you may want to double check again for your chosen language.
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt\>Search in Linkman
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt\Add to Linkman
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt\Add to Linkman (all tabs)
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt\Add to Linkman and Edit
-regkey = HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt\Show Linkman
 

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#296 Post by tproli »

Thanks! The launcher seems to clean up all Linkman-related settings though I haven't used it for a longer period.

The config is online here. I named it "Linkman Lite" not to be confused with the Pro version, but perhaps it would work with both of them.

sgp
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 am

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#297 Post by sgp »

You're welcome tpr, the least I can do to support my appreciation for yaP (and Linkman Lite).

User avatar
Userfriendly
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:41 pm

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#298 Post by Userfriendly »

Any idea how to portablize Microsoft Composite Image? http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/ ... jects/ice/
Saves settings in %LocalAppdata%\Microsoft\ICE.exe_Url_{random string} and cache folder in %TEMP%\Image Composite Editor

Settings folder has a random string that changes whenever location of program changes. For example, from the desktop its "ICE.exe_Url_agrfm1rxzka2n4p1uax5p2cjnoqft51w" and when moved to the root of D:\ it becomes "ICE.exe_Url_p0wu0if1guus0ojyghk1g0yxknovwpu3".

Requires .NET 4.0

User avatar
tproli
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#299 Post by tproli »

This is something that I don't know how to solve. In theory yaP could copy contents of a dir with random name using wildcard (ICE.exe_Url_* - currently not implemented).
However, this wouldn't solve the "restore settings" part because yaP has no clue what name the settings directory will get.

I have some similar applications yaPped and I usually portablize the parent dir - this case it wouldn't help because %LocalAppdata%\Microsoft is too generic.
Even using this, the portable Settings dir gets multiple random directories inside, meaning from time to time the the application will reset. So this workaround is good for only simple applications with few settings.

User avatar
Userfriendly
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:41 pm

Re: yaP - yet another Portablizer

#300 Post by Userfriendly »

Ah what a shame. I guess no other choice but to ask the dev to change it so app saves settings in a more standard way. But asking Microsoft of all things it would seem petty and low priority. I won't even bother.

But since the app only has a few trivial settings, I guess that wildcard feature could be useful to delete the config folder just so at least the app doesn't leave traces.

Post Reply