Page 1 of 4

AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:49 am
by guinness
AutoIt Portable
Download: http://softwarespot.wordpress.com/code/autoit-portable/

Description:
AutoIt Portable is a portable wrapper of AutoIt and SciTE4AutoIt3. It ensures SciTE doesn't leave any traces in the Application Data folder.

AutoIt [http://www.autoitscript.com/]
SciTE4AutoIt3 [http://www.autoitscript.com/site/autoit-script-editor/]
Folder structure:
Image

Re: AutoIT Portable Wrapper

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:17 am
by guinness
Updated initial post with a 100% Portable Version of AutoIt3 and the advanced version of SciTe4AutoIt. If you use AutoIt3 then it's worth installing, as it contains a host of many useful additions e.g. Tidy (Ctrl + T) which ensures the code is tidy, by indenting and changing the syntax for easy debugging.

It's also for those users (I shan't name) who use AutoHotKey to get an idea of what AutoIt3 can achieve.

Re: AutoIT Portable Wrapper

Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 9:34 am
by guinness
Changelog:

Code: Select all

Added: StringRegExpReplace() as a replacement for _FileReadToArray() & _FileWriteFromArray()
Removed: The need for the File.au3 include file due to the update mentioned above.
Improved: The speed was increased from 70ms to 20ms.
Improved: Source Code variable naming.
Improved: FileSize of compiled application.
Updated OP.

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:22 am
by guinness
Changelog

Code: Select all

Added: $CmdLineRaw to pass dropped files to SciTE.
Improved: FileSize of compiled application.
Updated OP.

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:52 pm
by webfork
There is evidently an AutoIt Firefox plugin now:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... toit-menu/

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:06 am
by guinness
Yeh that's been floating on the AutoIt Forums for quite a long time >> http://www.autoitscript.com/forum/topic ... toit-menu/

Did you have a look at my new Portable version? :D Also you can have a look at ProEject to get an idea of what AutoIt looks like in source form, that's how I learnt.

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:31 am
by joby_toss
Broken link (please fix it):

Code: Select all

Download SciTe4AutoIt3: http://www.autoitscript.com/cgi-bin/get ... ad/SciTE4A
Should be:

Code: Select all

http://www.autoitscript.com/cgi-bin/getfile.pl?../autoit3/scite/download/SciTE4AutoIt3.zip

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
by guinness
Thanks, forgot to update it ages ago.

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:25 am
by Firewrath
So i was bored and picked this up with a few other things i was downloading,
and i cant get scite to run/compile a script,
so is it supposed to? or will it not because of how its launched?

under the 'Tools' menu the 'compile', 'build', 'go', and 'stop executing' options are all greyed out,
i tried it with just the basic Hello World bit from the help file, and well, nothing,

so just curious,

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:35 am
by guinness
It works as I use it everyday. Did you download the full version of SciTe4AutoIt3 and placed in the folder called SciTe? Just to Help me could you let me know what you did to create the Portable Version.

I will uploading a compiled version tomorrow.

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:11 am
by Firewrath
Well, i downloaded the Scite from the first post, which has a lot more files then the one that comes with AutoIt, so i figure its the right one. :P

Anyways, heres how i went about it:

Downloaded the files, self-extracted AutoIt to my desktop,
renamed the folder 'install' to 'App'
created a new folder called 'AutoIt' and moved the 'App' folder to there,
saved the script from the post as 'AutoIt Portable.au3'
used the 'Aut2exe.exe' file to convert the script into an .exe file
put the new .exe file in the main folder beside the App folder
copied the files from the 'SciTE4AutoIt3.zip' into the '\App\SciTe' folder and overwrote the original files
then i went up and ran the AutoIt Portable.exe from the main folder and copied the Hello World script from the help file, then hit F5 to run it, and nothing happened,



though i did just open my 'AutoIt Portable.au3' file to check it, since i just went and redone all that step by step to make sure it was right,
and all the options are there and ready to use,

So it is something to do with trying to run/compile a script before you save it, ...which is a bit of an annoyance for checking random scripts, But something i should have thought of and checked before i posted. Sorry about that. -_-;


So just to be clear, it works, no problem with your portable launcher,
scripts just need to be saved before trying to run or compile them.

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:30 am
by guinness
Well, i downloaded the Scite from the first post, which has a lot more files then the one that comes with AutoIt, so i figure its the right one.
Yeh

And Yes the file should be saved before running (F5) I can see the annoyance when running random Scripts but this is how SciTE works and not AutoIt Portable. So everything else is working fine. You can see from the Source Code AutoIt Portable stops SciTE from saving data in the %APPDATA% folder.

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:22 pm
by Ruby
@Firewrath

Go to the properties folder and open au3.properties and search for command.go

Comment the first one and uncomment the second.

You might have to adjust your directory variable if different

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 1:37 am
by guinness
Changelog:

Code: Select all

- ADDED: GUI on startup to navigate through the Examples folder.
- ADDED: Uses AutoItPortable.dat to show the GUI.
- IMPORVED: Now included with a compiled EXE and released under GPLv3.
- IMPROVED: Size of compiled EXE.
Updated OP.

Re: AutoIt Portable

Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:12 am
by Firewrath
guinness, i just tried the launcher you made, and the 'Examples' bit doesnt seem to work,
or rather i cant get the list to do anything, it pops up, but i cant open the files through the list,
so i re-extracted everything again and started over, but nothing would open,
i tried double clicking, click-and-drag, right clicking, selecting a file and hitting enter, highlighting a file before hitting 'close' and none of those methods would open anything from the list,

i can open the files by manually going into the Examples folder ofcourse, but i figure the list is there to let you open files from it, sooo yeah, not working for me,
honest this time. :P



Ruby wrote:@Firewrath

Go to the properties folder and open au3.properties and search for command.go

Comment the first one and uncomment the second.

You might have to adjust your directory variable if different

Hrm, i did that, idk what its supposed to do though, :P
but it still didnt let me run code without saving the file, ...and gave me a bunch of errors when i tried to run a saved file, (and yes i changed the directory bit, :P)
Thanks anyways though,
the original setup works fine, i just thought i could put in code and hit 'Go' and be done with it,
though if the program would prompt you to save then run the script, thatd be good, most C++ compilers do such things, but then those are compilers so they kind of have too, still, itd be nice,