It is currently Sun May 19, 2013 1:04 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:16 am
Posts: 324
Location: Bristol, UK
At least according to the McAfee crap that got installed when I reinstalled Flash. What a crock.

Image

_________________
C a r b o n i z e
System Event Notification Service Not Starting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 3720
Maybe a good example of what irony is perhaps?

_________________
Added 177 Applications: Portable and an AutoIt MVP
SoftwareSpot - Portable Apps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 1988
Location: Romania
http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?u ... eeware.com

_________________
The Venus Project - Imagine Our world with No Laws, No Crime, No Wars, No Prisons


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 1988
Location: Romania
And here is their own quote:

Quote:
In our tests, we found a small fraction of downloads on this site that some people consider adware or other potentially unwanted programs.


http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/http%3 ... eeware.com

Don't trust security companies that give verdicts containing words like those bold ones from above!

And the file questioned by them is "ethereal.zip" http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/portab ... startat30/
@Andrew: please, check what's up with this.

_________________
The Venus Project - Imagine Our world with No Laws, No Crime, No Wars, No Prisons


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:16 am
Posts: 324
Location: Bristol, UK
I'm just pissed that it didn't even warn me that it also installed this rubbish or even give me an option to not install it.

_________________
C a r b o n i z e
System Event Notification Service Not Starting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:19 am
Posts: 805
Location: Helsinki, Finland
joby_toss wrote:
And here is their own quote:

Quote:
In our tests, we found a small fraction of downloads on this site that some people consider adware or other potentially unwanted programs.


http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/http%3 ... eeware.com

Don't trust security companies that give verdicts containing words like those bold ones from above!

And the file questioned by them is "ethereal.zip" http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/portab ... startat30/
@Andrew: please, check what's up with this.


I see McAfee complains about Ethereal. Ethereal is a PUP, because if the user doesn't know it's there, it might be used to sniff sensitive information.

However:

  • Hosting a PUP is not wrong. McAfee shouldn't flag an entire site for that.
  • Apparently Andrew removed ethereal.zip on August.

_________________
My YouTube channel | Release date of my fourth playlist: April 11, 2013


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 3720
First time I have seen or heard of the term PUP!

_________________
Added 177 Applications: Portable and an AutoIt MVP
SoftwareSpot - Portable Apps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Posts: 165
this is why i find Norton, McAfee and other AntiVirus Companies bogus.

instead of worrying about viruses, they have now gotten into the business of copyright.

i use many products that are 100% clean, but AntiViruses say otherwise.

Noobs may fall for it.. but only drive away experienced customers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:14 am
Posts: 672
Location: Hungary
But you're backed up with a hero :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 2:35 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:09 am
Posts: 911
Location: Terra @ Sol System
Looks like the people at McAfee are just trying to keep themselves in business -- O, and it's sad to watch how low they've stooped... :evil:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:51 am
Posts: 2583
tproli wrote:
But you're backed up with a hero :)

L0L

_________________
bəʊɡɪ bəəs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:45 pm
Posts: 597
carbonize wrote:
At least according to the McAfee crap that got installed when I reinstalled Flash. What a crock.

Image


McAfee has one of the worst UIs I've ever used. If you need to configure something, you have to drill through multiple screens in order to toggle a setting.

Quickly uninstalled. Am testing BitDefender at the moment. It's not too bad.

_________________
is it stealth? ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:20 am
Posts: 15
checking the report from mcafee site advisor:

"How does it modify my system?

In our tests, ethereal.zip did not make any changes to the system registry."

COOL, so now they are doing the stealth tests for us!

we should thank them for their help :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 9:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 1988
Location: Romania
Nice one! :)

_________________
The Venus Project - Imagine Our world with No Laws, No Crime, No Wars, No Prisons


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: This site is DANGEROUS!!!
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:38 pm
Posts: 31
Ethereal should be described as dangerous at all. It shouldn't even be a potentially unwanted program( PUP). Its the predecessor to the one of the most common network protocol analyzers or sniffers called Wireshark. Its more likely the user installed the program rather than some bad guy.
http://www.wireshark.org/

_________________
Great free games and Free Game development tools!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group